The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 08, 2021, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
B1 commits a common foul on A1. A1 is substituted by A6.
a) Team A in-bounds the ball, attempts a shot. Team B rebounds the ball. Team B moves down the court, make a basket. Timer immediately sounds the horn. Informs the official the foul was #7 for Team B. Can we correct the error? If so, what is the procedure?
b) Team A in-bounds the ball, Team B knocks the ball out-of-bounds. Timer immediately sounds the horn. Informs the official the foul was #7 for Team B. Can we correct the error? If so, what is the procedure?
The rules wording for when an error is correctable is hard for many. I prefer to use this sequence to explain it:
Error...clock properly runs...dead ball...live ball.
If you go through each step and reach the live ball it is too late. Otherwise, it is correctable. This covers multiple live/dead/live transition that may happen before the clock starts, if any. It covers errors that occur with the clock running or the clock stopped.

Both (a) and (b) are correctable as there was no dead ball-live ball transition after the clock was started in either case...the error was discovered during the dead ball before it become live again (which would have made it too late in both cases).

In both cases, bring A1 back in to shoot the FT(s). Even if the clock had not run, you're bringing A1 back in to shoot the FTs. The rule requiring a player to sit-a-tick is not applicable in this situation. A1 shoots A1's FTs unless A1 is injured or disqualified.

In (a), since there had been a change of possession after the error (B rebounded), there will be no players along the lane for A1's 1+1. After the FT(s), resume at the POI...Team A gets the ball on Team B's endline as after any made shot. If Team A still wants to substitute A6 in for A1 after the FTs, they may do so....again, the substitution rules about sitting a tick are not in affect due to the correctable error.

In (b), there had been no change of possession. Line up players for the FT normally and continue play from the last FT as after any normal FT. If A1 makes the FTs, A6 may still come in for A1 after the FTs are completed.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Jul 08, 2021 at 03:51pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 08, 2021, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,222
Agree with Camron.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 08, 2021, 04:02pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,476
Citations ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
In both cases, bring A1 back in to shoot the FT(s). Even if the clock had not run, you're bringing A1 back in to shoot the FTs. The rule requiring a player to sit-a-tick is not applicable in this situation. A1 shoots A1's FTs unless A1 is injured or disqualified ... the substitution rules about sitting a tick are not in affect due to the correctable error.
While not disagreeing with Camron Rust, are there citations other than 2-3 (Referee's Authority), and Purpose and Intent, to support his interpretation?

3-3-4: A player who has been replaced, or directed to leave the game shall
not re-enter before the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been
started properly following his/her replacement.


My additional new twist situation #3 is the only one in the thread that doesn't have A1 sitting the required tick.

There are two casebook plays that support the one exception to the sit a tick rule that I am aware of - playing with five "trumps" the sit a tick rule.

Do we now have a second exception to the sit a tick rule?

2-3 (Referee's Authority) and Purpose and Intent are pretty good citations, but are there more?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jul 08, 2021 at 04:26pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 08, 2021, 04:18pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,476
Designated Shooter ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
... bring A1 back in to shoot the FT(s) ... you're bringing A1 back in to shoot the FTs ... A1 shoots A1's FTs unless A1 is injured or disqualified.
My additional new twist situation #3 is the only one in the thread that doesn't have A1 sitting the required tick.

Since two of the three situations have A1 sitting the required tick, let's move away from the "sit a tick" question in those two situations and discuss whether the substitute A6 is some type of "designated shooter" who, for some reason, has to shoot the free throws (except for for blood, disqualification, or injury).

While not disagreeing with Camron Rust, are there citations other than 2-3 (Referee's Authority), and Purpose and Intent, to support his interpretation?

2-3 (Referee's Authority) and Purpose and Intent are pretty good citations, but are there more?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jul 08, 2021 at 04:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 08, 2021, 04:36pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,476
Down To Basics ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The rules wording for when an error is correctable is hard for many. I prefer to use this sequence to explain it ...
While Camron Rust's explanation of a correctable error is great, I'm not sure that Zoochy's question was in regard to whether, or not, is was correctable, and how to move the game along, but rather, who shoots the free throw(s).

1) Is substitute A6 some type of "designated shooter", who is only allowed to be substituted for for blood, disqualification, or injury?

2) Does the sit a tick rule apply in the one situation (new twist situation #3) where A1 has not sat his required tick?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jul 08, 2021 at 04:39pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 08, 2021, 04:50pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,476
Eureka! Eureka! (Socrates, Third Century B.C) …

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
1) Is substitute A6 some type of "designated shooter", who is only allowed to be substituted for for blood, disqualification, or injury?

2) Does the sit a tick rule apply in the one situation (new twist situation #3) where A1 has not sat his required tick?
8-2: The free throw(s) awarded because of a personal foul must be attempted by the offended player. If such player must withdraw because of an injury or disqualification, his/her substitute must attempt the throw(s) unless no substitute is available, in which case any teammate may attempt the throw(s) as selected by the team captain or head coach.

No injury. No disqualification.

This citation may take care of both the "sit a tick" and the "designated shooter" questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
There are two casebook plays that support the one exception to the sit a tick rule that I am aware of - playing with five "trumps" the sit a tick rule. Do we now have a second exception to the sit a tick rule?
Yes, I now believe that we do.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jul 08, 2021 at 05:58pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shot clock error- correctable error? mutantducky Basketball 11 Mon Mar 16, 2015 11:35am
Correctable Error? Adam Basketball 11 Tue Dec 13, 2011 05:48pm
Correctable Error Chess Ref Basketball 14 Mon Dec 18, 2006 01:17pm
Another correctable error in NIT Nevadaref Basketball 2 Tue Mar 23, 2004 05:01pm
correctable error coldbears Basketball 60 Fri Mar 19, 2004 01:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1