The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 845
I knew this play would be discussed on this site. Before I read posts from bob jenkins, JRutledge, and BillyMac, I knew this WAS NOT a backcourt violation.
The player DID NOT obtain control of the ball until she was in the backcourt, thus a garden variety "play on".
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 01:01pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
Backcourt Violation ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
I knew this WAS NOT a backcourt violation. The player DID NOT obtain control of the ball until she was in the backcourt, thus a garden variety "play on".
Although the official was somewhat in the way in the video, I believe that while the first inbounds touch (left hand, possibly both hands) did not establish player or team control, the second touch (only left hand) was definitely the start of a dribble (intentionally pushes the ball to the floor) and the dribble established both player and team control and this second touch occurred when both the player's feet were on the frontcourt side of the division line, leading to a backcourt violation by NFHS rules.

4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball.

4-12-2-A: A team is in control of the ball: When a player of the team is in control.

4-15-1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.

4-15-3: The dribble begins by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted.


Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control when coming from a throwin); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.
Bang bang play, easy to miss by an official who was mentally restricted by the immediacy of the act, and physically restricted by the sideline table behind him, in getting a better, more open look.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Mar 23, 2021 at 01:51pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
I think a discussion can be had that the second time the ball hit the floor it was the start of a dribble -- and that might lead to a BC violation.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 01:17pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
Start A Dribble ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think a discussion can be had that the second time the ball hit the floor it was the start of a dribble -- and that might lead to a BC violation.
Agree with "discussion" and "might".

But the ball didn't have to hit the floor to be the start of a dribble, dribbles begin with the ball being intentionally pushed, thrown, or batted to the floor.

Seeing the ball hit the floor just confirms that it probably was a dribble, not a pass, or a try, or something else.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Mar 23, 2021 at 02:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 04:10pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think a discussion can be had that the second time the ball hit the floor it was the start of a dribble -- and that might lead to a BC violation.
This is one of those plays where a legitimate argument can be made either way. If this were an NFL game, the official's call on the field would stand no matter which way they ruled.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 01:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 845
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Although the official was somewhat in the way in the video, I believe that while the first inbounds touch (left hand, possibly both hands) did not establish player or team control, the second touch was definitely the start of a dribble and the dribble established both player and team control and this second touch (only left hand)occurred when both the player's feet were in the frontcourt, leading to a backcourt violation by NFHS rules.

4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball.

4-12-2-A: A team is in control of the ball: When a player of the team is in control.

4-15-1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.

4-15-3: The dribble begins by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted.




Bang bang play, easy to miss by an official who was restricted by the immediacy of the act, and the sideline table, in getting a more open look.
When you saw the play the 1st time in normal speed did you determine for sure that the player had established control in the Front court? I had to watch the play a few times, and then it is still a maybe the touch with the left hand was starting a dribble. Or is she pulling the ball closer to her to control the ball and then start the dribble with the right hand. Too many 'IF's'
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 23, 2021, 01:40pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
Pressure Cooker ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
When you saw the play the 1st time in normal speed did you determine for sure that the player had established control in the Front court? I had to watch the play a few times, and then it is still a maybe the touch with the left hand was starting a dribble ...Too many 'IF's'
Agree. If you are not sure, don’t call it.

First time through normal time I was concentrating on the first touch (no player control, confirmed by slow motion replay). Second time through normal time I watched the second touch and where the player was located (undecided). Then I concentrated on the second touch and where the player was located on the slow motion replay to come to my final conclusion (backcourt).

The calling official doesn't have the luxury I have of watching this video in slow motion over and over again from the comfort of my computer chair without the pressure cooker of a national television audience, involving a call that won't make or break, my career as a esteemed Forum poster.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Bang bang play, easy to miss by an official who was mentally restricted by the immediacy of the act, and physically restricted by the sideline table behind him, in getting a better, more open look.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Mar 30, 2021 at 10:41am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
(Video Request) Troy at Seton Hall (FS1) JRutledge Basketball 12 Mon Dec 14, 2015 12:48am
NCAA Women's Pre-Game W/ Officials swkansasref33 Basketball 6 Mon Nov 30, 2015 08:04pm
Texas/Michigan St. Backcourt OKREF Basketball 1 Sun Dec 22, 2013 10:29am
Women backcourt violation mick Basketball 4 Tue Mar 03, 2009 09:32pm
NCAA women backcourt rule ranjo Basketball 16 Tue May 24, 2005 02:30pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1