Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
I knew this WAS NOT a backcourt violation. The player DID NOT obtain control of the ball until she was in the backcourt, thus a garden variety "play on".
|
Although the official was somewhat in the way in the video, I believe that while the first inbounds touch (left hand, possibly both hands) did not establish player or team control, the second touch (only left hand) was definitely the start of a dribble (
intentionally pushes the ball to the floor) and the dribble established both player and team control and this second touch occurred when both the player's feet were on the frontcourt side of the division line, leading to a backcourt violation by NFHS rules.
4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball.
4-12-2-A: A team is in control of the ball: When a player of the team is in control.
4-15-1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times.
4-15-3: The dribble begins by pushing, throwing or batting the ball to the floor before the pivot foot is lifted.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
The four elements for having a backcourt violation are: there must be team control (and initial player control when coming from a throwin); the ball must have achieved frontcourt status; the team in team control must be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt; that same team must be the first to touch after the ball has been in the backcourt.
|
Bang bang play, easy to miss by an official who was mentally restricted by the immediacy of the act, and physically restricted by the sideline table behind him, in getting a better, more open look.