The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 21, 2020, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,183
A1 is a jumper by virtue of having participated in the initial jump ball. Because it did not legally end, he still remains a jumper. A jumper or a free thrower cannot be substituted for unless he is injured, ill, or disqualified. A6 cannot enter the game to substitute for A1, because the jump ball has not ended. If the jump ball had been legally or illegally ended, i.e. because of a jump ball violation or one jumper tipping the ball straight out of bounds, then the substitution of A6 for A1 would be legal. A2 cannot replace A1 because the jump ball must be attempted again. According to Rule 6-4-3-NOTE, "When the alternating-possession procedure has not been established, the jump ball shall be in the center restraining circle between the two players involved in the subsequent action." The subsequent action was A1 and B1 failing to touch the tossed ball, so they must, by rule, be the two players involved in the second jump ball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. ??? BillyMac Basketball 12 Thu Feb 01, 2018 09:13pm
Tribute to Mark DeNucci Sr's Mother Daryl H. Long Basketball 2 Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:51pm
Hey, DeNucci... rainmaker Basketball 45 Mon Dec 06, 2004 06:24am
For DeNucci or Dino Ref: How about the rule changes? BktBallRef Basketball 7 Tue Apr 23, 2002 11:19pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1