![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Okay, to make it simple. There are designated jumpers in the rulebook only in situations where two players cause a held ball prior to possession being established for the purposes of setting the AP arrow.
Coaches sending players to the center circle for overtime or the beginning of the game does not fall into the above category. Now apply that logic to your scenarios. Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Logical ...
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If you notice, I asked earlier in this thread if there is a designated jumper to start the game or any extra period. I couldn’t find a clear answer in the rules book. |
|
|||
|
Rejumps ...
Quote:
Of course, as basketball officials we often hang our hat on if it's not illegal, it's legal, usually with pretty valid interpretations.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
If you are going to take your usual condescending tone, at least have a citation or reference to go along with it. My rule book reference has already been posted by others.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Fri Aug 21, 2020 at 12:35pm. |
|
|||
|
Once In Ten Million Games ...
Quote:
(However, one of those two specific casebook situations (nonjumpers simultaneous touch out of bounds) is technically not a held ball. Maybe Raymond can re-word his statement.) New Situation 5: During the jump ball between A1 and B1 to start the first quarter, A1 and B1 both simultaneously tap the ball out of bounds. No substitutes report to the X in front of the table. Of the ten starters on the court, who is allowed to jump in the “re-jump”? By Raymond's general casebook based rule, only A1 and B1 can "re-jump". New Situation 6: Following the jump ball between A1 and B1 to start the first quarter, the tapped ball is touched simultaneously by A2 and B2 and then the ball goes out of bounds. On the “re-jump” between new “designated jumpers” A2 and B2, jumpers A2 and B2 simultaneously tap the ball out of bounds. No substitutes report to the X in front of the table. Of the ten starters on the court, who is allowed to jump in the “re-re-jump”? By Raymond's general casebook based rule, only A2 and B2 can "re-jump". I realize that Situation 6 is an extremely rare situation that may occur only once in ten million games, but don't situations like this allow us to really study, examine, and understand the rules and casebook interpretations? Too bad Raymond's general statement probably doesn't cover my first two situations involving replacement jumpers or substitute jumpers where a poor toss by the official, or poor jumps by the jumpers, caused the re-jump, not a held ball (or similar) situation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Aug 20, 2020 at 11:49am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Going back to the Ancient (Pre-AP Arrow) Days "New Situation 6" could be descibed to include any time that A2 and B2 simultaneously caused the Ball to go Out-of-Bounds, whether or not there was Team Control at the time that the Ball went Out-of-Bounds, A2 and B2 would be the Jumpers, and either one could only be replaced because of injury. And it would also apply to "New Situation 5". Meaning that in the Post-Ancient Days "New Situations 5 and 6" would be treated the same way: the two Players who simultaneously caused the Ball to go Out-of-Bounds would be the Jumpers and either one could only be replaced because of injury. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
|
Jump (Van Halen, 1983) ...
Might as well jump (jump)
Go ahead and jump Might as well jump (jump) Go ahead and jump Quote:
Quote:
In 1985 when the NFHS Rules Committee adopted the alternating possession throw‐in for all jump or held‐ball situations except the start of the game and each extra period they appear to have failed to change all the language to fully cover all situations that could possibly lead to a post-1985 jump ball. Have we discovered a thirty-five year old careless, incomplete, editing mistake? Is "designated jumper" another fine mess that the NFHS has gotten us into (with apologies to Oliver Hardy)? Even if the jump ball language was cleaned up, would it help with my first two situations involving replacement/substitute jumpers where a poor toss by the official, or poor jumps by the jumpers, caused the re-jump (not caused by a held ball or simultaneous touch out of bounds situation before the alternating possession arrow had been established). Quote:
These situations are not about restricting "entering substitutes", these situations are about possibly restricting "designated jumpers". Young'uns can search "fine mess" and Oliver Hardy on the Google.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Aug 20, 2020 at 03:40pm. |
|
|||
|
Sorry Coach ...
Quote:
Now, if I were taking a written exam on these two situations, I'm still leaning the same way based on the ancient concept of "designated jumper", but I can be convinced otherwise.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
A1 is a jumper by virtue of having participated in the initial jump ball. Because it did not legally end, he still remains a jumper. A jumper or a free thrower cannot be substituted for unless he is injured, ill, or disqualified. A6 cannot enter the game to substitute for A1, because the jump ball has not ended. If the jump ball had been legally or illegally ended, i.e. because of a jump ball violation or one jumper tipping the ball straight out of bounds, then the substitution of A6 for A1 would be legal. A2 cannot replace A1 because the jump ball must be attempted again. According to Rule 6-4-3-NOTE, "When the alternating-possession procedure has not been established, the jump ball shall be in the center restraining circle between the two players involved in the subsequent action." The subsequent action was A1 and B1 failing to touch the tossed ball, so they must, by rule, be the two players involved in the second jump ball.
|
|
|||
|
1985 ...
I agree, which is why I asked about these situations to begin with. I believe that the NFHS dropped the ball back in 1985 and didn't do a perfect job, taking into consideration all possible situations, of changing the game from one with many jump balls to a game with one (or a few) jump balls, especially by diluting the meaning of "designated jumper".
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Aug 21, 2020 at 02:44pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. ??? | BillyMac | Basketball | 12 | Thu Feb 01, 2018 09:13pm |
| Tribute to Mark DeNucci Sr's Mother | Daryl H. Long | Basketball | 2 | Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:51pm |
| Hey, DeNucci... | rainmaker | Basketball | 45 | Mon Dec 06, 2004 06:24am |
| For DeNucci or Dino Ref: How about the rule changes? | BktBallRef | Basketball | 7 | Tue Apr 23, 2002 11:19pm |