The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 09, 2020, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
My interpretation

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Case: The ball rolls near A1. A1 begins pushing the ball, with one hand, along the floor all over the court and finally picks the ball up. A1 then begins dribbling. Ruling? Does it matter if the ball was pushed with two hands?
Ruling: Double dribble. Two hands? On the initial roll, no. Subsequent touches, yes.

Case: A1 is dribbling ball and then picks up his dribble. A1 then places the ball on the floor and ceases to have contact with the ball. A1 then picks up the ball.
Ruling? Double dribble. If holding the ball, A1 can legally touch the ball to the floor.


Case: A1 is dribbling ball and then picks up his dribble. A1 then places the ball on the floor and ceases to have contact with the ball. A1 then pushes the ball along the floor for 10 feet and then A2 picks the ball up.

Ruling? Violation. A1 has released the ball to the floor a second time. If he is the first to touch the ball it would be a double dribble.

Case: A1 is dribbling ball and then picks up his dribble. A1 then places the ball on the floor and ceases to have contact with the ball. A1 then pushes the ball along the floor for 10 feet. A1 picks up the ball.

Ruling? Same as previous case. A1 is the first to touch.
Technically, in the rule definition "pushes the ball to the floor" it doesn't say the ball has to bounce, that's just the way we are accustomed to seeing it. Whether the player in control of the ball pushes (bounces) throws, drops (not fumbles), places or rolls the ball; the fact is, the ball has intentionally gone from the player's hand(s) to the floor. Prior to dribbling, if A1 sets the ball on the floor, adjusts his waist band, picks up the ball and dribbles he has violated. If, instead of picking up the ball, he smacks the ball causing it to start bouncing and continues to dribble he has not violated. If A1 has used his dribble and is now trapped, he cannot roll the ball between the legs of the opponent, run around the trap and be the first to touch the ball just as he cannot throw the ball over the opponents to the floor and be the first to touch the ball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule question AremRed Basketball 80 Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:58am
NBA Rule Question stiffler3492 Basketball 5 Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:49am
NBA rule question Adam Basketball 36 Sun May 18, 2008 08:00pm
Rule Question Ohioref3 Football 5 Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:13am
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1