![]() |
|
|
|||
I asked Dave Smith from IAABO this exact same answer and he said ball goes to team A. There is team control on a throw-in and the points of emphasis from 17-18 do not override team control in this situation.
|
|
|||
Like Commissioner Gordon and Chief O'Hara shining the Bat Signal into the clouds above Gotham City, we await the arrival of Billy "IAABO" Mac to deliver a dose of clarity to these reported IAABO "Team Control During the Throw-In" Interpretations.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
Let's Go To The Videotape ...
Quote:
2. Team control, throw-in. The relevance of team control during a throw-in only applies when a member of the throw- in team fouls. Such fouls shall be ruled team control fouls. Team control during a throw-in is NOT intended to be the same as player control/team control inbounds. Team control inbounds is established when a player from either team who has inbound status gains control of the ball. During the throw-in, 10-seconds, 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc., are NOT factors as there has yet to be player control/team control obtained inbounds. Cue the Benny Hill theme song (Yakety Sax).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Nov 18, 2019 at 04:44pm. |
|
|||
NFHS, change the rule on team control on throw-ins so it is consistent for all situations. I don't want to see nonsense where fouls by the throw-in team are team control fouls, but the situation described is administered by the AP arrow (when a team clearly had control before the inadvertent whistle), and where the 10-second count does not start when the ball is touched, although team control has not changed since the ball was placed at Team A's disposal for the throw-in. For that and the irrelevant and incorrect test questions, C'mon, man!
|
|
|||
Team control during a throwin and until the ball is possessed by a player is for foul purposes only as Nevada and Billy’s post point out. It is only there to avoid shooting free throws when throw in team fouls....Your interpreter should know better. The team control definition should be rewritten.
Go to arrow in this play cause no team in control INBOUNDS. Ball was tipped, not controlled. B’s ball nearest spot where ball located at time of inadvertent whistle. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
inadvertent whistle | Zoochy | Basketball | 1 | Thu Dec 26, 2013 02:16pm |
Inadvertent whistle | oldschool | Basketball | 3 | Tue Mar 01, 2011 05:08pm |
Inadvertent Whistle | AZ Line Judge | Football | 7 | Sun Oct 01, 2006 10:23pm |
Inadvertent Whistle | Suudy | Football | 2 | Tue Oct 25, 2005 01:45am |
Inadvertent Whistle | Rev.Ref63 | Basketball | 29 | Sat Mar 09, 2002 01:43pm |