The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2019, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 964
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Can't tell if Nevada is serious? I am going to presume that he is joking. I doubt that Nevada would let B3 then do it, then B4, then B5, then B1 again, etc. for eternity.
I would venture to say he IS serious. Especially based on the video.

I would like to think we know a violation when we see one. I didn't see one in the video

I would also add, there is usually some verbalization going on which helps us determine when it is "@ the disposal". "I got it". "Jimmy take it out" etc...
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".

Last edited by thumpferee; Sat Feb 02, 2019 at 05:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2019, 05:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,499
I did not have a violation in the video. There is no doubt that the kid that initially had the ball was in the wrong place and the correct player was coming to administer the throw in. Both these kids look confused and it's way too obvious. If I had any inkling that it was a "trick" or a deceitful action I would have a traveling violation. This isn't what the intent or spirit of the rule is/was for.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2019, 05:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 699
Does not go completely Out of Bounds

This is from one of my games. I am not skilled on 'chipping out' a clip.
Go to 5:15 into the video. Player DOES NOT go OOB
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uStIAr_HnBQ
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2019, 08:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
This is from one of my games. I am not skilled on 'chipping out' a clip.
Go to 5:15 into the video. Player DOES NOT go OOB
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uStIAr_HnBQ
This raises an interesting (to me) question -- at what point did you decide it was intended to be a throw-in, and not just giving the ball to the player who was supposed to take it out of bounds? Suppose White 23 had taken the ball OOB -- would the play have been legal? If so, then White 12's pass was not a(n attempted) throw-in? And, if it wasn't an attempted throw-in, then what would you have if White 12 HAD BEEN out of bounds, throw the ball in the same manner to White 23 and White 23 then went out of bonds?
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 03, 2019, 12:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
I would venture to say he IS serious. Especially based on the video.

I would like to think we know a violation when we see one. I didn't see one in the video

I would also add, there is usually some verbalization going on which helps us determine when it is "@ the disposal". "I got it". "Jimmy take it out" etc...
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
I did not have a violation in the video. There is no doubt that the kid that initially had the ball was in the wrong place and the correct player was coming to administer the throw in. Both these kids look confused and it's way too obvious. If I had any inkling that it was a "trick" or a deceitful action I would have a traveling violation. This isn't what the intent or spirit of the rule is/was for.
Are we talking about the same video? The one Freddy posted? The kid who "wanted" to take the ball out of bounds clearly wanted to be the in-bounder, but I think the one who actually did thought that his throw was the actual throw in. Not to mention, you have defenders right there who are confused by the move. The first defender in the key is going to guard the 2nd kid, if he thought that it wasn't a throw in, then he's probably chasing the other one up the court after he threw it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
If I had any inkling that it was a "trick" or a deceitful action I would have a traveling violation. This isn't what the intent or spirit of the rule is/was for.
Deecee, you bring up a great point though, the spirit and intent of the rule. If there is no question from EITHER team that it's not an in-bound attempt, fair enough, and I'd play on too, but if there is any doubt from either team, then I think it should count as the in-bound.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 03, 2019, 12:10pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,715
Real, Not Hypothetical, Situations ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
This is from one of my games.
Nice video Zoochy. Thanks.

Perfect for this thread.

Once 23 passed to 3, the throwin violation had to be called. The original "throwin pass" may have been made in confusion, but the next pass was part of playing basketball.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Feb 03, 2019 at 12:17pm.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 03, 2019, 12:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,499
I should have been more clear. I was referencing Freddy's video.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 03, 2019, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
An obvious underhand toss to B2 who is near the end line and walking out of bounds. If B1 did that, I wouldn’t whistle a violation. The intent would be clear to me that the team wants B2 to inbound.
I have bigger fish to fry in every game so I will not nitpick at this. But rules are pretty clear. B1 picks up ball or it’s in his vicinity/ at disposal...count starts. That’s just the rule. He tosses it to B2 inbounds..B2 can pass it to someone else without going OB to do it.
Again, if it’s bang bang that close I’m not going to make a call just to prove I know the rule. On the other hand I don’t like rewarding dumbness...This is something taught in 3rd grade...

Last edited by BigCat; Sun Feb 03, 2019 at 02:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 03, 2019, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 964
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
I should have been more clear. I was referencing Freddy's video.
Same here!

Did anyone notice C official come in the screen signaling a travel?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 03, 2019, 04:17pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
Same here!

Did anyone notice C official come in the screen signaling a travel?
That's because trail's whistle was so late due to the unexpected nature of the situation that happened, as explained in a previous post. Center saw it in his periphery and blew his whistle late when he identified that trail hadn't yet.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 03, 2019, 10:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 902
Quote:
Originally Posted by thumpferee View Post
I would venture to say he IS serious. Especially based on the video.

I would like to think we know a violation when we see one. I didn't see one in the video

I would also add, there is usually some verbalization going on which helps us determine when it is "@ the disposal". "I got it". "Jimmy take it out" etc...
I watched the original video and felt the first kid never actually went out of bounds. He released the ball to the other kid and his and his left foot appears to still be on the inbound side. I think the ref should have simply continued his initial 5 second count. I believe that the ref did not look at the feet of the original inbounder. Now, presuming that the first thrower is out of bounds, then indeed, there is a violation.


Zoochy had a nice video and I would offer a suggestion. Notice the level of play and the amount of people in the gym. These kids are young and having trouble doing some very basic things. As a ref, you are a coach..for both teams. The rules almost have to be completely forgotten and this play is a perfect example. Clearly, the original kid was not trying to inbound the ball and wanted the receiver to inbound it. Clearly, the receiver thought the first kid did inbound it and began play. As I said, these kids confuse easily, especially with each other. This is the perfect time, as an official, to be aware of what is happening. Once you notice this confusion, just mutter to take the ball out. As I am watching the ball/player/confusion develop, I found myself saying "take it out white, take it out white." It does not have to be loud, just enough for the involved kids to hear. They would quickly react to this instruction and play would continue without a stoppage to the flow. No one will say anything. Do this in a V/JV game? No, but the lower the level the more of a coach you should become. The same goes for 3 seconds ("get out 23, get out 23"), 5 seconds, etc. During dead balls, reiterate something to the offender. The kids need help. it really is on a case by case scenario. Many times, even the coaches need help coaching at the younger levels.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?

Last edited by bucky; Sun Feb 03, 2019 at 10:39pm.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 12:48am
I got a Basketball Jones!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Hunger
Posts: 882
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
I watched the original video and felt the first kid never actually went out of bounds. He released the ball to the other kid and his and his left foot appears to still be on the inbound side. I think the ref should have simply continued his initial 5 second count. I believe that the ref did not look at the feet of the original inbounder. Now, presuming that the first thrower is out of bounds, then indeed, there is a violation.


Zoochy had a nice video and I would offer a suggestion. Notice the level of play and the amount of people in the gym. These kids are young and having trouble doing some very basic things. As a ref, you are a coach..for both teams. The rules almost have to be completely forgotten and this play is a perfect example. Clearly, the original kid was not trying to inbound the ball and wanted the receiver to inbound it. Clearly, the receiver thought the first kid did inbound it and began play. As I said, these kids confuse easily, especially with each other. This is the perfect time, as an official, to be aware of what is happening. Once you notice this confusion, just mutter to take the ball out. As I am watching the ball/player/confusion develop, I found myself saying "take it out white, take it out white." It does not have to be loud, just enough for the involved kids to hear. They would quickly react to this instruction and play would continue without a stoppage to the flow. No one will say anything. Do this in a V/JV game? No, but the lower the level the more of a coach you should become. The same goes for 3 seconds ("get out 23, get out 23"), 5 seconds, etc. During dead balls, reiterate something to the offender. The kids need help. it really is on a case by case scenario. Many times, even the coaches need help coaching at the younger levels.
I don't get paid enough to coach and officiate at the same time

Do you also help serve hotdogs at halftime?
__________________
Lah me..
(In honor of Jurassic Ref, R.I.P.)
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 12:06pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
This happened last night:
Throw-In Foibles


A1 takes the Ball OoB. T correctly starts a Five Second Count. A1 passes the Ball to A2. The Throw-in ends when the Ball touches A2. A2 gains PC of the Ball and the T starts a Ten Second Count. A2 commits a Traveling Violation and then steps OoB with the Ball. The T correctly stops play for "a Violation" by Team A. I am not sure whether it was for Traveling or for Causing the Ball to go OoB. But the a Violation did occur.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 12:14pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
This is from one of my games. I am not skilled on 'chipping out' a clip.
Go to 5:15 into the video. Player DOES NOT go OOB
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uStIAr_HnBQ


W1 commits a Throw-in Violation and the T calls it immediately.

There was a very long thread in this Forum a number of years ago (when our FB Friend was still active (, I am sorry but he was quite active in the Thread and if my memory serves me correctly he was instrumental in the NFHS issuing an official Rules Interpretation stating the this indeed was a Throw-in Violation) about this very same Play. And the NFHS issued the previously mentioned Rules Interpretation.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 10:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 902
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
I don't get paid enough to coach and officiate at the same time

Do you also help serve hotdogs at halftime?
I understand. Keep in mind however that adding a little coaching, at younger levels, decreases the amount of officiating. It actually results in more value for your dollar.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in by wrong team after made free throw HawkeyeCubP Basketball 1 Mon Nov 14, 2016 06:53pm
Fumble on throw in and free throw billyu2 Basketball 9 Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:33pm
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1