The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 01, 2019, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
No where in the Throw-in Rule will one find the word "intent"
Is it implied in the definition of a throw-in pass: "an attempt to put the ball in play" (or something like that)? If the action was not such an attempt (e.g., it was just giving the ball to the person who was then to make such an attempt), it wouldn't be a throw-in pass and the restrictions wouldn't apply.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 01, 2019, 09:25am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,510
Good For Horseshoes, Good For Hand Grenades, Good For Throwin ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Is it implied in the definition of a throw-in pass: "an attempt to put the ball in play" (or something like that)? If the action was not such an attempt (e.g., it was just giving the ball to the person who was then to make such an attempt), it wouldn't be a throw-in pass and the restrictions wouldn't apply.
4-42-2 A throw-in is a method of putting the ball in play from out-of-bounds.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Feb 01, 2019 at 09:28am.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 01, 2019, 04:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 960
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
An obvious underhand toss to B2 who is near the end line and walking out of bounds. If B1 did that, I wouldn’t whistle a violation. The intent would be clear to me that the team wants B2 to inbound.
^This

Not even necessarily an underhand toss.
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words".
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 01, 2019, 07:28pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,599
A1 makes a FG. B1 takes the Ball completely OoB and is immediately Guarded by A1; the T starts a Five Second Count when B1 takes his position OoB with the Ball. B2, who is Inbounds starts toward B1 to become the Thrower and B1 tosses him the Ball and B2 catches the Ball while he is still at least three steps Inbounds as proceeds to walk OoB with the Ball. What do you have?

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 01, 2019, 10:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
A1 makes a FG. B1 takes the Ball completely OoB and is immediately Guarded by A1; the T starts a Five Second Count when B1 takes his position OoB with the Ball. B2, who is Inbounds starts toward B1 to become the Thrower and B1 tosses him the Ball and B2 catches the Ball while he is still at least three steps Inbounds as proceeds to walk OoB with the Ball. What do you have?

MTD, Sr.
When B2, with the ball, has moved beyond the limitations of a pivot foot, traveling shall be called.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2019, 01:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
When B2, with the ball, has moved beyond the limitations of a pivot foot, traveling shall be called.
This is correct, provided this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
A1 makes a FG. B1 takes the Ball completely OoB and is immediately Guarded by A1; the T starts a Five Second Count when B1 takes his position OoB with the Ball. B2, who is Inbounds starts toward B1 to become the Thrower and B1 tosses him the Ball and B2 catches the Ball while he is still at least three steps Inbounds as proceeds to walk OoB with the Ball. What do you have?

MTD, Sr.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2019, 08:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
A1 makes a FG. B1 takes the Ball completely OoB and is immediately Guarded by A1; the T starts a Five Second Count when B1 takes his position OoB with the Ball. B2, who is Inbounds starts toward B1 to become the Thrower and B1 tosses him the Ball and B2 catches the Ball while he is still at least three steps Inbounds as proceeds to walk OoB with the Ball. What do you have?

MTD, Sr.
An official who prematurely started a five-second count.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2019, 09:27am
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,489
I passed on a potential violation tonight. Inner city girls team getting throttled by 20 in the second half. No press, girl has ball at disposal OOB after a made basket and I start my count. She hands the ball inbounds to a teammate who she wanted to be the thrower. Teammate with ball inbounds steps OOB and throws in the ball. Winning teams fans went nuts and started yelling how this isn’t 3rd grade anymore, blah blah blah. Technically a violation but I was ok passing on this one. Anything to wind up those fans (notorious for being bad).
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2019, 10:56am
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,251
Throw-Initis Interruptis

This happened last night:
Throw-In Foibles
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2019, 12:31pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,510
Nice Video ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
This happened last night:
Throw-In Foibles
Nice video Freddy. Thanks.

Perfect for this thread.

Didn't like his signal.

Either pass on the call (topic of this thread), or call a travel.

He didn't pass, not sure what he called?

He had started his count when the first player (barely) got out of bounds, so he ruled ball was at disposal.

Was his count (as Nevadaref stated) premature?
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Feb 02, 2019 at 12:58pm.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2019, 02:12pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Didn't like his signal... He didn't pass, not sure what he called?... Was his count premature?
He was somewhat surprised in a momentary lapse of complacency by what occurred during the waning running minutes of a 50-point game. Verbalized, after a late whistle, that it was a traveling violation but didn't signal it. What was going through his mind was, "Hey, that's just about exactly what happened in that thread on the officiating.com forum we've been discussing this past week." You have all that going through your mind at that moment, you'd forget to signal too.
Not sure who the official is...
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2019, 02:57pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
An official who prematurely started a five-second count.

1) When is the Five Second Count to begin? When the Ball is at the Disposal of the Throwing Team.

2) What is one of the ways for the Ball to be at the Disposal of the Throwing Team? When a Player of the Throwing Team has PC of the Ball and is completely Out-of-Bounds.

3) A1's FGA is successful. B1 takes possession of the Ball and then takes the Ball and positions himself completely Out-of-Bounds behind Team B's Backcourt End Line. When is the Ball at Team B's Disposal? RULING: When B1 positions himself completely Out-of-Bounds behind Team B's Backcourt End Line. Also, see Item (1) above.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2019, 03:12pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,510
Nice, But By Rule ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
What is one of the ways for the Ball to be at the Disposal of the Throwing Team? When a Player of the Throwing Team has PC of the Ball and is completely Out-of-Bounds.
Like, "When a Player of the Throwing Team has PC of the Ball and is completely Out-of-Bounds", but is this NFHS rule language based, or intent and purpose based?

4-4-7-d: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.

Also like, "one of the ways", allowing for some odd occurrences (i.e., nobody shows up to make the inbounds pay).
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Feb 02, 2019 at 03:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2019, 03:42pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,599
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Like, "When a Player of the Throwing Team has PC of the Ball and is completely Out-of-Bounds", but is this NFHS rule language based, or intent and purpose based?

4-4-7-d: A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: Available to a player after a goal and the official begins the throw-in count.

Also like, "one of the ways", allowing for some odd occurrences (i.e., nobody shows up to make the inbounds pay).

Yes and yes.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2019, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
An official who prematurely started a five-second count.
Can't tell if Nevada is serious? I am going to presume that he is joking. I doubt that Nevada would let B3 then do it, then B4, then B5, then B1 again, etc. for eternity.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in by wrong team after made free throw HawkeyeCubP Basketball 1 Mon Nov 14, 2016 06:53pm
Fumble on throw in and free throw billyu2 Basketball 9 Thu Jan 17, 2013 12:33pm
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1