The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2018, 07:05pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,248
Revised 2.8.4 in New '18,19 Casebook

2.8.4: Who informs the coach when a player is disqualified on fouls? RULING: It is recommended that the ruling official be responsible for notification to the coach. The scorer is to indicate to that official when a player has committed his/her fifth foul (personal and technical or second technical foul. The official will immediately notify the coach, the timer, and then the player of the disqualification. The player is officially disqualified and becomes bench personnel when the coach is notified. COMMENT: Once the coach is notified, the disqualified player becomes bench personnel and any subsequent technical foul on that disqualified player is also charged indirectly to the head coach. (4-14, 10-6-2)
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2018, 05:52am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,466
Fuel To The Fire ...

We have a very old, seldom used, tradition that the non-ruling official informs the coach that the player has been disqualified. It's based on the idea that if the same official both rules a disqualifying foul and informs the coach that this could add "fuel to the fire" and create a problem. I've seldom seen it used, and have never, ever used it myself.

I have this in my pregame:
Game management: If I call a fifth foul on a player, Iíll tell the coach, unless I think itís going to be a problem.
If either of us warns a coach, or the bench, letís let each other know about it. If one of us calls a technical foul
on a coach, the noncalling official will remind the coach that he must sit down.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2018, 06:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,405
If the coach wants to act the fool after his player is DQíd, that is his problem and I have no issue dealing with it as the ruling official. Itís not my responsibility to run away from the coach because heís upset.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2018, 06:16am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,466
Coward ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
It’s not my responsibility to run away from the coach because he’s upset.
Agree. Regarding fifth foul/disqualification, I'm not looking for a fight, but I'm not literally running away from one. I don't like the optics.

But I would still prefer my partner to remind a coach that he has to sit (if he continues to stand) after I charge a technical foul to said coach (a long standing, oft used custom in my local board). Does that make me a hypocrite, or proactive?
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2018, 06:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,405
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
But I would still prefer my partner to remind a coach that he has to sit (if he continues to stand) after I charge a technical foul to said coach (a long standing, oft used custom in my local board). Does that make me a hypocrite, or proactive?
Not hypocritical at all. I am the same way. The two scenarios are totally different IMO.

Though it is interesting to me how in football, the wing officials can flag a coach, stay right where they are and have no issue. Yet in basketball thereís such a stigma about the same official calling both Ts and ďbaitingĒ the coach into a second one.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2018, 07:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,998
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
We have a very old, seldom used, tradition that the non-ruling official informs the coach that the player has been disqualified. It's based on the idea that if the same official both rules a disqualifying foul and informs the coach that this could add "fuel to the fire" and create a problem. I've seldom seen it used, and have never, ever used it myself.

I have this in my pregame:
Game management: If I call a fifth foul on a player, Iíll tell the coach, unless I think itís going to be a problem.
If either of us warns a coach, or the bench, letís let each other know about it. If one of us calls a technical foul
on a coach, the noncalling official will remind the coach that he must sit down.
99% of the time, either the coach knows what the player did (there's no problem in staying), it's a non-controversial 5th foul (there's no problem in staying) or the coach just wants to know what the player said to get the second T (he deserves an answer and the calling official can provide the best answer).

Your solution deals with the 1%. We need that solution -- but not all the time. I would change it to "if it's controversial and you think you need to leave, do so and someone else will deal with the coach."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2018, 05:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,393
Having the non-calling official inform the coach on a disqualifying foul was actually the NFHS mechanic for years.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2018, 06:42pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,466
Don't Like The Optics ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
We have a very old, seldom used, tradition that the non-ruling official informs the coach that the player has been disqualified.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Having the non-calling official inform the coach on a disqualifying foul was actually the NFHS mechanic for years.
That's probably where our local (what I thought was) tradition came from.

I just don't like the optics.

BillyMac charges Blue #5 with a foul, heads to the reporting area, and reports the foul to the table. Table informs BillyMac that it's Blue 5's fifth personal foul. BillyMac scampers timidly over to his partner and tells him that Blue 5 is disqualified and could he please mosey on over to the Blue head coach and inform him of such. Partner heads over to the Blue head coach and informs him that Blue 5 is disqualified. Blue head coach yells over to BillyMac, "Hey. You didn't have the guts tell me face to face, man to man, mano a mano?".

Yeah, I made up the last part, but I still don't like the optics.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Aug 23, 2018 at 09:49pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 24, 2018, 07:30am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
That's probably where our local (what I thought was) tradition came from.

I just don't like the optics.

BillyMac charges Blue #5 with a foul, heads to the reporting area, and reports the foul to the table. Table informs BillyMac that it's Blue 5's fifth personal foul. BillyMac scampers timidly over to his partner and tells him that Blue 5 is disqualified and could he please mosey on over to the Blue head coach and inform him of such. Partner heads over to the Blue head coach and informs him that Blue 5 is disqualified. Blue head coach yells over to BillyMac, "Hey. You didn't have the guts tell me face to face, man to man, mano a mano?".

Yeah, I made up the last part, but I still don't like the optics.
I pregame that if turn and start walking back towards the crew while telling them a player has 5 fouls, that means I want my partner to inform the coach.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 24, 2018, 08:06am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,615
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Having the non-calling official inform the coach on a disqualifying foul was actually the NFHS mechanic for years.
And many of us stopped using that mechanic because it was silly. If you called the foul what are you running for? Much of the time the coach already knew and had someone ready to go before you even reported the foul.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael ďMickĒ Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Revised Rule 4-42-5a Freddy Basketball 50 Tue Oct 18, 2016 12:56pm
Revised Brain Teaser MD Longhorn Football 15 Fri Aug 13, 2010 10:42pm
Revised: First, Osborne; Second, Christensen Carl Childress Baseball 14 Tue Oct 18, 2005 11:42am
NFHS OBS Revised Rule whiskers_ump Softball 4 Tue Dec 14, 2004 11:26pm
Revised 2nd situation, check swing 4th out. BJ Moose Baseball 13 Fri Jan 19, 2001 11:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1