The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2018, 05:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 295
A.R. 107. A1 intercepts a pass and dribbles toward A’s basket for a break-away
layup. Near A’s free-throw line, A1 legally stops and ends his dribble. A1 throws
the ball against A’s backboard and follows the throw. While airborne, A1
rebounds the ball off the backboard and dunks.
RULING: The play shall be legal since the backboard is located in A1’s
frontcourt, which A1 is entitled to use.
(Rule 5-1.1 and .6, and 9-12.1)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2018, 06:00pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Legal. Anything else?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2018, 06:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Legal. Anything else?
Yes, a case for NFHS.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2018, 06:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdoebler View Post
A.R. 107. A1 intercepts a pass and dribbles toward A’s basket for a break-away
layup. Near A’s free-throw line, A1 legally stops and ends his dribble. A1 throws
the ball against A’s backboard and follows the throw. While airborne, A1
rebounds the ball off the backboard and dunks.
RULING: The play shall be legal since the backboard is located in A1’s
frontcourt, which A1 is entitled to use.
(Rule 5-1.1 and .6, and 9-12.1)
Excellent, thanks. Now we need something for NFHS.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2018, 06:10pm
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
For FED, are you referring to CB 9.5 Situation?

9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2018, 08:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
This play is perfectly legal for NFHS/NCAA. The relevant case plays have been provided. Don't let BillyMac confuse you.
I swear that he slips into a coma every couple of years and asks the same questions after coming out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 04, 2018, 10:52pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
Not Ruled A Try, Not Ruled A Pass, Not Ruled A Fumble …

NFHS only. Not ruled a try. Not ruled a pass. Not ruled a fumble.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; ... and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used ... (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19)
4-15-1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor one or several times. It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player’s own backboard.

In one very specific case, not only is it legal throw the ball against one's own backboard, but one can also legally catch it after it bounces back.

We don't know, in 9.5 SITUATION, if said player moved his pivot foot (I'm assuming he didn't for this to be legal), or any foot, before the release. That would make a difference in regard to if he's actually allowed to legally catch it. Nor does it tell us much about what the player is legally allowed to do next.

9.5 SITUATION, as written, is very limited in scope.

9.5 SITUATION, 4-15-1, and Fundamental 19, simply state that if a player ends his dribble with both feet on the floor, throws the ball off his backboard, doesn't move his feet, and catches the ball, that I can't call an illegal dribble (double dribble) violation on him. So I won't. But it doesn't say that I can't call any other violation based on the travel rules if the pivot foot moves outside of the prescribed limits. 9.5 SITUATION alone states that I can't call a violation for simply throwing the ball off of his own backboard, because it's not illegal, because it's not a rule.

These "throw the ball off the backboard and dunk plays" may involve moving a pivot foot outside the prescribed limits, a travel violation.

4-44-3: The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.

What if the player touches the floor with his pivot foot between the throw and the catch, moving his pivot foot multiple times between the throw and the catch?

What NFHS rule "resets the pivot foot limits" (like a pass, or a try) after a throw off the backboard?

That's why I believe that the "throw the ball off the backboard and dunk play" is often illegal according to NFHS rules.

That's my rationale, with citations, and I'm sticking to it, at least until ...

Can someone please tell me why, by rule, or by interpretation, it's legal in the NFHS? I will be much obliged.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
... asks the same questions after coming out of it
Because I've never been convinced that this is legal by NFHS rules. Never. Ever. But I'm not closed minded, so please convince me.

I have absolutely no problem ending this thread with, "I was wrong. Nice citations. Thanks for the clarification". And I promise to try to remember that for any future threads, or posts.

Now, where are my house keys?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jul 05, 2018 at 01:18am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ball thrown into Dead ball territory MASS F/B UMP Softball 11 Mon May 04, 2009 11:32am
Break-away dunk - off the backboard. Legal? rfp Basketball 10 Wed Jan 07, 2009 01:35pm
Thrown Elbow - Live Ball vs. Dead Ball rfp Basketball 19 Sun Nov 12, 2006 05:15am
Free throw thrown off backboard latterdaysaint Basketball 16 Tue Feb 26, 2002 02:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1