The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2018, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
Question

Situation where a team calls a timeout with 10 seconds to go in a game. They set up their winning play. They inbound and start that winning play and you notice the clock isnt running. You decide to kill it and start them over at 10 seconds and inbounding the ball. Would you consider giving them a time out to redraw a play since they showed their cards on what play they were doing and now the defense knows what they are running and better defend it. Because the clock operator fell asleep?
I would not start them over at 10 seconds as time had elapsed.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2018, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
I would not start them over at 10 seconds as time had elapsed.
At what time would you restart? Why?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2018, 05:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,177
The rulebook says "If an official has definite knowledge of the time elapsed (e.g. by a count), the clock shall be reset to that time". In NCAA rules, at least .3 seconds have to pass when the ball is legally touched inbounds. By analogy, I would subtract .3 seconds, as the error was realized instantly (the time would be 9.7). If the clock does not use 10ths, the clock would be reset to 9 seconds.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2018, 05:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
By analogy, I would subtract .3 seconds, as the error was realized instantly (the time would be 9.7). If the clock does not use 10ths, the clock would be reset to 9 seconds.
You would do that in an NCAA game or an NFHS game?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2018, 06:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 536
Didn’t we beat this horse a couple of months ago?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2018, 10:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
You would do that in an NCAA game or an NFHS game?
NCAA, I would subtract 0.3 automatically. NFHS, I would do so as well, if the officials instantly realize that the clock failed to start. Since NFHS is silent on this situation, I will use a solution that is there: the NCAA solution.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2018, 11:03pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,385
Run Silent, Run Deep (1958) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
Since NFHS is silent on this situation ...
Silent?

Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2009-10
SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1’s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2’s touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2’s throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2018, 11:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,177
What I meant is that NFHS has no explicit coverage in the rules for a situation where the clock starts and is immediately stopped, or where the clock is immediately stopped because it failed to start. NCAA does, and that is why I would use the NCAA rule to cover this gap. The solution to (c) in your example says that 10ths of a second need to be taken off. I would take off .3, because it takes that much time to catch a ball and do something else with it (by rule, one cannot catch and shoot with .3 or less on the clock).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2018, 01:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
NCAA, I would subtract 0.3 automatically. NFHS, I would do so as well, if the officials instantly realize that the clock failed to start. Since NFHS is silent on this situation, I will use a solution that is there: the NCAA solution.
The NFHS isn't silent on the situation. You're making up your own rule. The NFHS says you can take time off based on definitely knowledge and definite knowledge is comprised of counts that you may have had. That is it. If you don't have a count (visible or mental), you don't take time off. Period. You don't say it must have been at least X because the NCAA does it. That just is not supported by rule (in NFHS).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 22, 2018, 05:42pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
The NFHS says you can take time off based on definitely knowledge and definite knowledge is comprised of counts that you may have had. That is it. If you don't have a count (visible or mental), you don't take time off. Period.
Except when the NFHS says that you can:

Basketball Rules Interpretations - 2009-10
SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1’s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2’s touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2’s throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on chopping clock in 3 person mechanics pillsburrydoboi Basketball 6 Tue Apr 11, 2017 06:43pm
Two end of the game situations. (Video) JRutledge Basketball 7 Sun Feb 26, 2017 10:35pm
Free Throw situations (Video) JRutledge Basketball 11 Fri Feb 05, 2016 09:18am
Mechanics stopping clock & encroachment signal johnny1784 Football 31 Fri Sep 30, 2011 09:19pm
Video review situations--NCAA Buckley Basketball 2 Tue Jan 11, 2000 12:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1