![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Bob: That is a valid point. If in one's judgement one believes that the Dribble ended with B5 "cupping" the Ball against side of her torso, then I would agree with a Travel. I believe that it is difficult to tell from the video. I think that you would agree that one of three things, that you and I have mentioned, happened before B5 released the Ball on her FGA. So the result of my poll would then be evenly divided among three possible outcomes. That is why I had concerns about the T not Closing Down to get a better (and closer) look at B5's actions. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
Mark,
So let's just say you are not calling a travel violation because B5 has not controlled the ball until she grabs it with two hands. What if the defender fouls her during the spin? Is this a continuation foul??? ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
1) There is no such thing as a "continuation foul". 2a) Bob has brought up a could point: When did B5 stop her dribble? 2b) Between Bob and me there are four possible points in her spin move where B5 could be judged to have ended her Dribble. 2c) Bob is younger than me and has better eye sight. In his judgement B5 ended her Dibble by cupping the Ball with her right hand against the right side of her torso while her left foot is in contact with the Floor. I agree with Bob that B5's foot work after she stopped her Dribble by cupping the Ball to her torso and before she released the Ball for a FGA constitutes a Traveling Violation. 3a) I am old and my eye sight is not as good as that young whippersnapper Bob's eyesight, ![]() 3b) B5 gained Player Control of the Ball when she caught the Pass from B4. She maintained PC of the Ball until she released the Ball for a FGA. B5's Act of Shooting began when she ended her dribble and the Act of Shooting did not end until B5 returned to the Floor after releasing the Ball for the FGA. Therefore, if a Player from Team A had fouled B5 at any point after she ended her Dribble and before she returned to the Floor after releasing the Ball for the FGA, B5 would have been fouled in the Act of shooting. But I want to reiterate, that from the moment that B5 started her spin to the moment that she released the Ball for her FGA, no more than 1.5 seconds, maybe less (I am leaning toward less, maybe barely one second). And an official has to make a decision as to where and how B5 stopped her Dribble based upon what an Player whose motion took less than a second. That is why I have no problem with Bob having a Travel Violation and another official have no Travel Violation. The players are just getting too darn quick. LOL! MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Spin move plays (Video) | JRutledge | Basketball | 18 | Thu Dec 08, 2016 12:04am |
Spin move. You make the call.... (Video) | JRutledge | Basketball | 51 | Mon Mar 14, 2016 04:48pm |
Spin move, make the call, video | jump stop | Basketball | 18 | Fri Feb 01, 2013 04:41pm |
Spin move video | The R | Basketball | 6 | Thu Dec 02, 2010 07:31pm |
Spin move | just another ref | Basketball | 9 | Thu Feb 12, 2009 11:20am |