View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 27, 2018, 09:18am
Pantherdreams Pantherdreams is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NB/PEI, Canada
Posts: 649
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
What is the wording in other rules sets that makes this legal? (I'm not doubting you; I'm just curious)
FIBA adopted the NBA "zero step" to allow these sorts of plays and rip and goes in transition.

Basically if you are ending your dribble or moving into a catch: The first step or foot on floor as you've caught/or gathered doesn't count as a step. Once you have 1 foot down and have caught the regular travel rules/ footwork as we would understand them come into play. next foot down is pivot foot etc.
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game!

Me: Thanks, but why the big rush.

Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we!
Reply With Quote