The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 18, 2018, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jqb12 View Post
OK, I get it, thank you.
I was thinking the throw had ended because the defense touched the ball, therefore the arrow would change.
So here is a similar AP throw in question. Team gets the throw in on the arrow. On the throw in, Team B commits a kicked ball violation as the first contact of the ball after it has been released? Who gets possession and who gets the arrow?

This was a question on our league rules test for years.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 18, 2018, 09:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,668
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
So here is a similar AP throw in question. Team gets the throw in on the arrow. On the throw in, Team B commits a kicked ball violation as the first contact of the ball after it has been released? Who gets possession and who gets the arrow?

This was a question on our league rules test for years.
Hint: Was the ball legally touched?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 18, 2018, 10:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
So here is a similar AP throw in question. Team A gets the throw in on the arrow. On the throw in, Team B commits a kicked ball violation as the first contact of the ball after it has been released? Who gets possession and who gets the arrow?

This was a question on our league rules test for years.
I think there is a letter missing from your question but correct me if I am wrong

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Hint: Was the ball legally touched?
Nope
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 19, 2018, 01:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 570
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
So here is a similar AP throw in question. Team gets the throw in on the arrow. On the throw in, Team B commits a kicked ball violation as the first contact of the ball after it has been released? Who gets possession and who gets the arrow?

This was a question on our league rules test for years.
Arrow only changes when:

1) Throw-in legally ends
2) Inbounding team violates

Guessing your inbounding team is Team A. To answer your last question, Team A gets possession and Team A retains the arrow.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 19, 2018, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
If the official chopped it would, however, it should not as throw-in did not end.
Throw-in has to be released for the clock to start

ART. 4

If play is resumed by a throw-in, the clock shall be started when the ball touches, or is legally touched by, a player on the court after it is released by the thrower.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another AP throwin Q CoachNRef Basketball 2 Sat Jan 14, 2012 11:58pm
Throwin situation hoopguy Basketball 11 Tue Dec 09, 2008 08:06am
Throwin Plane BillyMac Basketball 8 Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:51am
AP throwin puzzler Mark Padgett Basketball 5 Fri Dec 22, 2000 03:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1