The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2008, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Shore Mass
Posts: 121
Throwin situation

Out of bounds situation where A1 throws the ball in from the sideline. The ball is thrown along the sideline and never crosses the boundary. B1 from inbounds reaches over the boundary 15 feet from A1 and grabs the ball. What is the correct call?

I was asked this by a coach who ran into this situation and I thought the correct call is a violation by B1 but I am not sure.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2008, 10:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopguy View Post
Out of bounds situation where A1 throws the ball in from the sideline. The ball is thrown along the sideline and never crosses the boundary. B1 from inbounds reaches over the boundary 15 feet from A1 and grabs the ball. What is the correct call?

I was asked this by a coach who ran into this situation and I thought the correct call is a violation by B1 but I am not sure.
There is no call (aka not a violation)

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2008, 10:26pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
B1 may reach across and grab it once it's been released. A2 may not.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2008, 10:35pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,274
This was a question on our state exam this year. 7-6-2 seems to clarify the previous responses.
We had a posting on or about October 15 which clarified this situation, also.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2008, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
B1 may reach across and grab it once it's been released. A2 may not.
I had a long discussion about this tonight. It involved Part II question 70. I referenced 7-6-4 and the difference between a thrower (4-42-1) and a player out of bounds throwing the ball to another player along the endline as in 7-5-7.

At one time, I am pretty sure it was a "delay of game" warning if the defender touched the ball outside the boundary line after it was released by the thrower.

Is it still a warning? What is the citation? Can a defender deflect the pass from a player to a teamate along the endline as in 7-5-7? Is a throw-in free game for defenders once it has been released by the thrower?

Please Help.

Last edited by Scratch85; Mon Dec 08, 2008 at 10:44pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2008, 10:51pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
7-6-4
"The opponent(s) of the thrower shall not....until the ball has been released on a throwin pass."

IOW, if it's a throwin pass (obvious on a spot throwin), B1 can reach across and grab the ball once it's been thrown.

If it's a pass from one OOB teammate to another during an endline throwin, B1 may not reach across. That is a delay of game incident.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2008, 11:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
7-6-4
IOW, if it's a throwin pass (obvious on a spot throwin), B1 can reach across and grab the ball once it's been thrown.

(2) If it's a pass from one OOB teammate to another during an endline throwin, B1 may not reach across. That is a delay of game incident.

Can you cite a rule that makes it legal to to touch the ball after the release or is it the lack of a rule that makes it legal?

In situation (2), how is a defender (or official) to know that the "thrower" is not throwing it to a teammate in the adjacent corner? The different rulings leave me unsure. Again, is there a rule that I can refer to?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2008, 11:12pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
Can you cite a rule that makes it legal to to touch the ball after the release or is it the lack of a rule that makes it legal?
Yes, if there's isn't a rule against it, it's legal. No rule says a player can take 3 steps between each dribble, but it's legal because the restrictions are lifted when he's dribbling. Once the restrictions are gone, they're gone.

Rule 9-2-10 is another reference that says the same thing.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2008, 11:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
7-6-4
If it's a pass from one OOB teammate to another during an endline throwin, B1 may not reach across. That is a delay of game incident.
I can't find a rule against this either. I find rules involving a "thrower", but the player that is passing it along his endline is not a "thrower" by definition 4-42-1. The above action doesn't keep the ball from becoming live, that happened when it was at the disposal of the thrower, even though the thrower doesn't have posession of it yet.

I'm sure this will click with me soon. Please bear with me and help me get it. What is the rule that makes the above situation a delay of game?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2008, 07:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
I can't find a rule against this either. I find rules involving a "thrower", but the player that is passing it along his endline is not a "thrower" by definition 4-42-1. The above action doesn't keep the ball from becoming live, that happened when it was at the disposal of the thrower, even though the thrower doesn't have posession of it yet.

I'm sure this will click with me soon. Please bear with me and help me get it. What is the rule that makes the above situation a delay of game?
B1 is not allowed to reach across the plane until the throw in pass is released. A1 passing to A2 along the endline after a made or awarded basket is not a throw in pass. 7-6
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2008, 07:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Yes, if there's isn't a rule against it, it's legal.
If this principle were correct, we wouldn't need the "god" rule. No rule prohibits pouring olive oil on the floor around your opponents' basket, for example.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2008, 08:06am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
If this principle were correct, we wouldn't need the "god" rule. No rule prohibits pouring olive oil on the floor around your opponents' basket, for example.
Good point, the exceptions to my principal are all "non-basketball" plays, or plays where a team or player gains an advantage not intended by the rules.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Situation - help please DC_Ref12 Basketball 35 Thu May 10, 2007 09:30am
Throwin Plane BillyMac Basketball 8 Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:51am
throwin rule clarification tjsoccer9 Soccer 8 Wed Jan 25, 2006 07:36pm
break plan, in air, throwin Bart Tyson Basketball 34 Thu Apr 04, 2002 09:06am
AP throwin puzzler Mark Padgett Basketball 5 Fri Dec 22, 2000 03:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1