![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
If he does that, then hasn't he given up LGP, so it's still a block?
|
|
|||
Only if he is still moving forward at the time of contact. Moving forward along doesn't netgate LGP, it can still be maintained even when moving towards the opponent if that forward motion has ceased before contact.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Yes -- if he pulled the foot forward, then it was still moving at the time of contact -- it may or may not have been removed from the RA
|
|
|||
You can see from one of the angles that his upper body is moving forward and sideways at the time of contact.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
While that might be the case, I don't believe it is necessarily the case. I can easily see that a player could stop moving forward (based on the torso) but not put the foot back down.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Hmmm -- this might be a rule differenca. I think the NCAAW rule is that if initial LGP is inside the RA, it's a block (unless the player re-establishes LGP outside the RA, and, of course, assuming the rest of the conditions are met). I know if the player establishes LGP outside the RA, the player can back into the RA and be legal.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Incorrect. You can still have LGP in the RA -- it's just that sometimes the illegal contact is ruled a charge and sometimes it's ruled a block, depending on what lead to the illegal contact.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Bothched foul tip call yesterdays Wash. Nat'ls game | DUNDALKCHOPPER | Baseball | 27 | Fri Oct 05, 2012 02:09pm |
WASH/UCONN: Why not foul at end of regulation? | TGR | Basketball | 9 | Sun Mar 26, 2006 01:54pm |
Phantom pivot at 2B - No call | Bluefoot | Softball | 8 | Thu Jul 01, 2004 10:13am |
Phantom Travels | SMEngmann | Basketball | 24 | Tue Mar 09, 2004 06:34pm |
Phantom save | Forksref | Basketball | 0 | Tue Mar 09, 2004 03:10pm |