![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|
|||
|
Yes -- if he pulled the foot forward, then it was still moving at the time of contact -- it may or may not have been removed from the RA
|
|
|||
|
You can see from one of the angles that his upper body is moving forward and sideways at the time of contact.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
While that might be the case, I don't believe it is necessarily the case. I can easily see that a player could stop moving forward (based on the torso) but not put the foot back down.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Hmmm -- this might be a rule differenca. I think the NCAAW rule is that if initial LGP is inside the RA, it's a block (unless the player re-establishes LGP outside the RA, and, of course, assuming the rest of the conditions are met). I know if the player establishes LGP outside the RA, the player can back into the RA and be legal.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Incorrect. You can still have LGP in the RA -- it's just that sometimes the illegal contact is ruled a charge and sometimes it's ruled a block, depending on what lead to the illegal contact.
|
|
|||
|
That is a general statement about all plays, right? In the play in question from the OP, it is a secondary defender, so he cannot establish LGP within the RA. Or am I misinterpreting the wording? Is this a thing where LGP can be obtained anywhere technically, but if it is established within the RA, its more or less useless (again as a secondary defender) because it will be ruled a block regardless?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
This. And, in NCAAW, it's not always illegal for the secondary defender -- only if the play starts outside the LDB, and there hasn't been a secondary move in the LDB, or the offense doesn't lead with an arm or foot, etc. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Bothched foul tip call yesterdays Wash. Nat'ls game | DUNDALKCHOPPER | Baseball | 27 | Fri Oct 05, 2012 02:09pm |
| WASH/UCONN: Why not foul at end of regulation? | TGR | Basketball | 9 | Sun Mar 26, 2006 01:54pm |
| Phantom pivot at 2B - No call | Bluefoot | Softball | 8 | Thu Jul 01, 2004 10:13am |
| Phantom Travels | SMEngmann | Basketball | 24 | Tue Mar 09, 2004 06:34pm |
| Phantom save | Forksref | Basketball | 0 | Tue Mar 09, 2004 03:10pm |