The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2018, 12:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 658
Vid request: Wash vs OSU - 2 whistles for phantom foul?

With 1:35 left in OT. L and C call foul on OSU player. Foul or not?

My 2 cents - I say no foul. I can understand one official missing something but 2? Maybe I missed something.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2018, 01:25am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,224
Two plays (Video)

Play #1:


Play #2: The play requested


Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2018, 01:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 658
Play 1: Yes, I was questioning that too. Foot in RA. Should have been a block and partner should have brought the info, although....there was a lot of stuff happening.

Play 2: C immediately signals block and L nods head in agreement as if it was something obvious. I saw nothiiiing.


(Thanks JRUT!!)
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2018, 12:44pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,795
1) I believe that is a block on its own merits, but it is most definitely a block with the RA

2) Illegal contact by defender's right knee followed by ballhandler going down = a foul. If he stays upright and maintains his footing, then no-call.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2018, 06:59pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
2) Illegal contact by defender's right knee followed by ballhandler going down = a foul. If he stays upright and maintains his footing, then no-call.
Great observation. I admit I missed that my first few viewings but it's definitely there. I think that's enough for a block.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2018, 08:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
1) I believe that is a block on its own merits, but it is most definitely a block with the RA

2) Illegal contact by defender's right knee followed by ballhandler going down = a foul. If he stays upright and maintains his footing, then no-call.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Great observation. I admit I missed that my first few viewings but it's definitely there. I think that's enough for a block.
I get your point, and am not denying the knee is there, but it has NOTHING to do with why that defender goes to the ground. His knee didn't push the leg out giving the illusion of a slip, that player just flat out slipped.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 11, 2018, 10:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth- For Now
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
I get your point, and am not denying the knee is there, but it has NOTHING to do with why that defender goes to the ground. His knee didn't push the leg out giving the illusion of a slip, that player just flat out slipped.
There is no way you can say that definitively. The offensive player loses his footing immediately after the contact, no matter how slight. There is a strong case to be made the contact affected his balance.

Looks like a really tough call in real time. But on replay I think there is not only a knee but a slight body bump as well, which is a point of emphasis- at least in NFHS- this year.

Does this kind of contact, and more, happen all the time in the post at that level? Of course. But again, there is support for illegal contact by a defender resulting in a ball handler losing his balance.

That along with two officials immediately having the same thing. I'm deferring to them on this.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2018, 02:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
I get your point, and am not denying the knee is there, but it has NOTHING to do with why that defender goes to the ground. His knee didn't push the leg out giving the illusion of a slip, that player just flat out slipped.
Not true. It was everything about why he went down. The dribbler ran into the knee and upset his balance.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2018, 02:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
1) I believe that is a block on its own merits, but it is most definitely a block with the RA
Or, did he pull the foul out and forward before contact, perhaps, giving him a position outside of the RA? I couldn't tell for sure, but it seems possible.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2018, 07:14am
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,395
Play 1: Block, even without foot in RA. From Lead looks like a PC though.

Play 2: It's a foul, and a slip. Defenders knee, then offensive player slips.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2018, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Or, did he pull the foul out and forward before contact, perhaps, giving him a position outside of the RA? I couldn't tell for sure, but it seems possible.
If he does that, then hasn't he given up LGP, so it's still a block?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2018, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
I get your point, and am not denying the knee is there, but it has NOTHING to do with why that defender goes to the ground. His knee didn't push the leg out giving the illusion of a slip, that player just flat out slipped.
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaTerp View Post
There is no way you can say that definitively. The offensive player loses his footing immediately after the contact, no matter how slight. There is a strong case to be made the contact affected his balance.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Not true. It was everything about why he went down. The dribbler ran into the knee and upset his balance.
Ok, I can concede that I can't say that the contact has nothing to do with the slip, but for the same reason, you can't say it has EVERYTHING to do with it. I think that player slips with a legal defender as well, the bump contributed less than 10% of why he eventually fell, which is a number I made up to help my argument.

I guess I don't mean to criticize the officials when they probably got it right, my point is that I think if this was not called, we wouldn't be talking about how it should've been called, even if that play was still clipped and presented to us here.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2018, 10:14am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,795
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
...

I guess I don't mean to criticize the officials when they probably got it right, my point is that I think if this was not called, we wouldn't be talking about how it should've been called, even if that play was still clipped and presented to us here.
If that foul is not called the coach for UW is sending a clip of that play into the PAC 12 supervisor before he leaves the facility. It's a 50-50 type play where the officials have to make a decision. Score/time/foul count/previous plays all have to be taken into consideration in a moment's time.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2018, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 175
#1 looks like a block to me with or without RA

#2 - I'm not good enough to make that call
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 12, 2018, 03:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
If he does that, then hasn't he given up LGP, so it's still a block?
Only if he is still moving forward at the time of contact. Moving forward along doesn't netgate LGP, it can still be maintained even when moving towards the opponent if that forward motion has ceased before contact.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bothched foul tip call yesterdays Wash. Nat'ls game DUNDALKCHOPPER Baseball 27 Fri Oct 05, 2012 02:09pm
WASH/UCONN: Why not foul at end of regulation? TGR Basketball 9 Sun Mar 26, 2006 01:54pm
Phantom pivot at 2B - No call Bluefoot Softball 8 Thu Jul 01, 2004 10:13am
Phantom Travels SMEngmann Basketball 24 Tue Mar 09, 2004 06:34pm
Phantom save Forksref Basketball 0 Tue Mar 09, 2004 03:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1