The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2017, 07:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Are you sure about that?
What do you do when the first foot comes down in the frontcourt and the second lands in the backcourt?
Nothing. While the rule doesn't explicitly cover this situation, I think it is clear that they want to allow a defender to make a normal landing (both feet down) after securing control while in the air.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2017, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Nothing. While the rule doesn't explicitly cover this situation, I think it is clear that they want to allow a defender to make a normal landing (both feet down) after securing control while in the air.
The exception only applies to certain situations when player jumps from FC. If player jumps from back Court normal rules apply. Normal landing language doesn't apply. You jump from BC, first foot lands in FC u are now in FC. Second foot down in BC.Violation. The thread has gotten bit confused but If you read earlier responses u will agree with Nevada etc.

Last edited by BigCat; Mon Nov 20, 2017 at 10:49pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2017, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,249
Perhaps a related play:

Team A has the ball for a throw-in. A2 jumps and catches the ball and lands with one foot in the frontcourt, near the division line. BEFORE A2 puts the other foot on the floor, A2 begins a dribble -- the first bounce of the dribble is in the backcourt. A2 then places the second foot on the floor in the backcourt and continues to dribble the ball (moving completely into the backcourt). Legal or BC violation?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2017, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Perhaps a related play:

Team A has the ball for a throw-in. A2 jumps and catches the ball and lands with one foot in the frontcourt, near the division line. BEFORE A2 puts the other foot on the floor, A2 begins a dribble -- the first bounce of the dribble is in the backcourt. A2 then places the second foot on the floor in the backcourt and continues to dribble the ball (moving completely into the backcourt). Legal or BC violation?
I'm going to assume your player, A2, jumped from the FC so that exception MIGHT apply. Assuming that, this is a violation. The exception allows A2 to catch ball in air after having jumped from FC and make a normal landing. When he does catch the ball in air having jumped from FC he has FC status. When he dribbles in BC and touches ball again he has violated. The exception allows him a normal landing. Not a dribble while landing...That is not NORMAL
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fed 2016 Interpretations Are Out Welpe Baseball 9 Sat Feb 13, 2016 02:22am
Basketball Interpretations ronny mulkey Basketball 34 Sat Oct 15, 2011 06:06am
To check or not to check with your partner DaveASA/FED Volleyball 3 Sat Dec 11, 2004 01:27pm
FED interpretations? Randallump Baseball 4 Wed Jan 03, 2001 09:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1