The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2017, 07:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
The defensive exception doesn’t exist until player control inbounds has been established. It’s clear that that’s the way the FED expects this to be adjudicated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2017, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,249
I have to edit my previous statement on NCAAW. This just came out:

QUESTION:

Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team’s backcourt (Team B’s frontcourt). A1’s throw-in is deflected by B1, who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from her frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in her team’s backcourt. Is this a backcourt violation?

ANSWER:

When the ball is at A1’s disposal for the throw-in, Team A has team control (Rules 4-10.a, 4-8.1.a, 4-8.2.a). Team control continues after the release of the throw-in until the opponents gain control of the ball or the ball becomes dead (Rule 4-8.3). Even though the throw-in ended when B1 touched the throw-in pass, it did not end Team A’s team control. B2, as a defensive player, may jump from her frontcourt, gain control of the ball while airborne, and then land with one or both feet in her backcourt, as this is the exception to the backcourt rule (Rule 9-12.9).

This is a legal play.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2017, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philly Area
Posts: 52
Contradictory statement...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
The defensive exception doesn’t exist until player control inbounds has been established. It’s clear that that’s the way the FED expects this to be adjudicated.
I don't know where the idea comes from that there is not any offense or defense until the ball is controlled inbounds. in this years points of emphasis, the NFHS clearly seems to think that the team taking the ball in bounds is on offense, hence the other team B must be on defense:
From page 69 of the rule book: ...BY RULE EXCEPTION, during a throw-in a team may leave the front court, establish player control/team control while airborne and land in the backcourt. This is a legal play and ONLY applies to the first player of the offense who touches the ball PRIOR to the end of the throw-in.
It is my opinion that the NFHS has twisted this interpretation - and apparently did the same thing back in 2007, when the same play was interpreted. Interesting to note that this play was NOT in last year's case book...It would be interesting to see when it was removed.

As for Situation #6 - I also agree that the defense should always be allowed to intercept a pass and not be responsible from where he took off. BUT also agree that the current language only applies to a defender who leaves the floor from his frontcourt. the NFHS should fix this language as well.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2017, 02:41pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,994
Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeMrRef View Post
...BUT also agree that the current language only applies to a defender who leaves the floor from his frontcourt. the NFHS should fix this language as well.
If the defensive player is jumping from his backcourt, it doesn't matter where he lands.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2017, 06:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
If the defensive player is jumping from his backcourt, it doesn't matter where he lands.
Are you sure about that?
What do you do when the first foot comes down in the frontcourt and the second lands in the backcourt?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2017, 07:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Are you sure about that?
What do you do when the first foot comes down in the frontcourt and the second lands in the backcourt?
Nothing. While the rule doesn't explicitly cover this situation, I think it is clear that they want to allow a defender to make a normal landing (both feet down) after securing control while in the air.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2017, 10:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Nothing. While the rule doesn't explicitly cover this situation, I think it is clear that they want to allow a defender to make a normal landing (both feet down) after securing control while in the air.
The exception only applies to certain situations when player jumps from FC. If player jumps from back Court normal rules apply. Normal landing language doesn't apply. You jump from BC, first foot lands in FC u are now in FC. Second foot down in BC.Violation. The thread has gotten bit confused but If you read earlier responses u will agree with Nevada etc.

Last edited by BigCat; Mon Nov 20, 2017 at 10:49pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 21, 2017, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,249
Perhaps a related play:

Team A has the ball for a throw-in. A2 jumps and catches the ball and lands with one foot in the frontcourt, near the division line. BEFORE A2 puts the other foot on the floor, A2 begins a dribble -- the first bounce of the dribble is in the backcourt. A2 then places the second foot on the floor in the backcourt and continues to dribble the ball (moving completely into the backcourt). Legal or BC violation?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fed 2016 Interpretations Are Out Welpe Baseball 9 Sat Feb 13, 2016 02:22am
Basketball Interpretations ronny mulkey Basketball 34 Sat Oct 15, 2011 06:06am
To check or not to check with your partner DaveASA/FED Volleyball 3 Sat Dec 11, 2004 01:27pm
FED interpretations? Randallump Baseball 4 Wed Jan 03, 2001 09:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1