![]() |
|
|
|||
You have definitive knowledge that more than zero seconds came off the clock. A tap for goal is .3 seconds, and you had at least .4 if there was a shot involved. Start with that and get with your partners and decide if 1 second definitely went off, if 2 seconds definitely went off, etc.
If it is less than 5 seconds, put the ball in play at the point of interruption. If more than 5 seconds, the game is over. And next time everyone should have a count in their head. |
|
|||
You still need a count since you will need to adjust clock and inbound the ball from the POI.
|
|
|||
Quote:
And, with five seconds left, there's plenty of opportunity for one of the two/three officials to see that the clock didn't start. |
|
|||
I think the wisdom on how to handle came from Bob way back at the start. Instead of positioning yourself to make stuff up, with that little time left, count!
|
|
|||
Bob's wisdom was directed at post #5. I agree with this wisdom that we should have a count. Unfortunately, the original scenario says we do not have a count.
|
|
|||
There are two options supported by rule: you can either blow it dead and adjust the clock and inbound from the POI, or you can blow it dead, leave the clock where is was originally, and inbound from the original location.
|
|
|||
Quote:
You have to catch it right away and leave it at 5.0 and go from original spot or I think I would ask everyone at the table if there is any alternate timing device that could help us out (not a likely thing to have around). If there’s no other information that can help, sounds like we just have to take the ball to the POI and give it to whoever had it when we stopped play. Then we finish those 5 seconds and GTFO as quickly as possible. Last edited by Valley Man; Tue Oct 31, 2017 at 11:41am. |
|
|||
The NFHS Mechanics manual, pgae 11: "Remember, an officials count (backcourt, throw-in, etc.) may be used to correct an obvious timing error."
This phrase seems to suggest that the count should be visible, but it does not explicitly say so. I interpret "an official's count" to mean "when an official is counting", which may or may not be visible. Thus, I am allowed to count in my head in this situation and adjust the clock as necessary. Personally, I have my hand at my side and snap my fingers in rhythm with the clock. That has worked quite well for me judging the release of the last-second shot and correcting a timing mistake like the one in the OP. |
|
|||
Quote:
SECTION 10 TIMING MISTAKES ART. 2 . . . If the referee determines that the clock malfunctioned or was not started/stopped properly, or if the clock did not run, an official’s count or other official information may be used to make a correction. |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by BigCat; Tue Oct 31, 2017 at 12:15pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't think that is supported by rule (maybe I am mis-understanding it) |
|
|||
no do overs from the original spot. you may have to leave 5 seconds because you have no other definite knowledge but the ball would go in play to wherever it was when you killed it. i haven't gotten my head into the rules like I should just yet but I don't know where you can go back to the original location under the rules...
|
|
|||
Under 5 seconds, blowing this dead to fix, and possibly remove time to then have the team redo the throw in with LESS time is tantamount to a disaster. You are screwed either way, but I would always count. It's a tough spot.
__________________
in OS I trust |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
How to handle this situation | alabamabluezebra | Football | 3 | Tue Aug 24, 2004 11:04am |
How do you handle this situation? | alabamabluezebra | Softball | 7 | Fri Jun 06, 2003 02:22pm |
Tell me how you handle this situation . . . | Gold_Spark | Baseball | 7 | Sat Aug 24, 2002 01:20pm |
clock situation in AAU game | 112448 | Basketball | 19 | Thu Mar 22, 2001 06:22pm |