![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
You still need a count since you will need to adjust clock and inbound the ball from the POI.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
And, with five seconds left, there's plenty of opportunity for one of the two/three officials to see that the clock didn't start. |
|
|||
|
I think the wisdom on how to handle came from Bob way back at the start. Instead of positioning yourself to make stuff up, with that little time left, count!
|
|
|||
|
Bob's wisdom was directed at post #5. I agree with this wisdom that we should have a count. Unfortunately, the original scenario says we do not have a count.
|
|
|||
|
My point was that the take away from this thread should not be the arcana of what can and cannot be used if no one has a count. The take away should be to have a %$@!# count.
|
|
|||
|
There are two options supported by rule: you can either blow it dead and adjust the clock and inbound from the POI, or you can blow it dead, leave the clock where is was originally, and inbound from the original location.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
You have to catch it right away and leave it at 5.0 and go from original spot or I think I would ask everyone at the table if there is any alternate timing device that could help us out (not a likely thing to have around). If there’s no other information that can help, sounds like we just have to take the ball to the POI and give it to whoever had it when we stopped play. Then we finish those 5 seconds and GTFO as quickly as possible. Last edited by Valley Man; Tue Oct 31, 2017 at 11:41am. |
|
|||
|
The NFHS Mechanics manual, pgae 11: "Remember, an officials count (backcourt, throw-in, etc.) may be used to correct an obvious timing error."
This phrase seems to suggest that the count should be visible, but it does not explicitly say so. I interpret "an official's count" to mean "when an official is counting", which may or may not be visible. Thus, I am allowed to count in my head in this situation and adjust the clock as necessary. Personally, I have my hand at my side and snap my fingers in rhythm with the clock. That has worked quite well for me judging the release of the last-second shot and correcting a timing mistake like the one in the OP. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
SECTION 10 TIMING MISTAKES ART. 2 . . . If the referee determines that the clock malfunctioned or was not started/stopped properly, or if the clock did not run, an official’s count or other official information may be used to make a correction. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Last edited by BigCat; Tue Oct 31, 2017 at 12:15pm. |
|
|||
|
We've had this discussion numerous times before on this site.
I've always advocated the following: 1. Only the Referee may correct a timing mistake. The Referee may take input from the umpire(s), but must make the final decision. 2. Once the throw-in is touched inbounds, it is over and any stoppage for a timing error now results in a POI throw-in. There are no do-overs under NFHS rules. 3. 2-7-9 lists the officials counts during the contest. Those are what may be used to correct an unnoticed timing mistake. 4. If an official notices that the clock did not properly start or has improperly stopped and does not wish to halt play immediately because a scoring playing is in progress, the official needs to start a visible count and continue it until either halting play for a correction or to signal that time has expired. Having this count be visible is important because it can be verified via video in the event of a complaint. 5. If the clock improperly starts prematurely, prior to the ball being touched inbounds, an official needs to notice and stop play immediately and before the ball is touched inbounds. The time can then be restored and the game resumed from where that the throw-in was located. If already touched, then POI is required and some small amount of time must be deducted for the inbounds touching. 6. If no visible counts were made while the clock was not properly running, then no correction can occur, other than a small deduction for a throw-in catch or touching. This is unfortunate, but officials can't make their best guess nor use non-visible counts which aren't part of 2-7-9. There does not exist a single NFHS ruling or Case Book play in which an official counts in his head and uses that for a correction. Last edited by Nevadaref; Tue Oct 31, 2017 at 04:26pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I don't think that is supported by rule (maybe I am mis-understanding it) |
|
|||
|
no do overs from the original spot. you may have to leave 5 seconds because you have no other definite knowledge but the ball would go in play to wherever it was when you killed it. i haven't gotten my head into the rules like I should just yet but I don't know where you can go back to the original location under the rules...
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| How to handle this situation | alabamabluezebra | Football | 3 | Tue Aug 24, 2004 11:04am |
| How do you handle this situation? | alabamabluezebra | Softball | 7 | Fri Jun 06, 2003 02:22pm |
| Tell me how you handle this situation . . . | Gold_Spark | Baseball | 7 | Sat Aug 24, 2002 01:20pm |
| clock situation in AAU game | 112448 | Basketball | 19 | Thu Mar 22, 2001 06:22pm |