The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2017, 10:32am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
You still need a count since you will need to adjust clock and inbound the ball from the POI.
There are two options supported by rule: you can either blow it dead and adjust the clock and inbound from the POI, or you can blow it dead, leave the clock where is was originally, and inbound from the original location.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2017, 11:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
There are two options supported by rule: you can either blow it dead and adjust the clock and inbound from the POI, or you can blow it dead, leave the clock where is was originally, and inbound from the original location.
Adjust it with what count? Supported rule count

You have to catch it right away and leave it at 5.0 and go from original spot

or

I think I would ask everyone at the table if there is any alternate timing device that could help us out (not a likely thing to have around). If there’s no other information that can help, sounds like we just have to take the ball to the POI and give it to whoever had it when we stopped play. Then we finish those 5 seconds and GTFO as quickly as possible.

Last edited by Valley Man; Tue Oct 31, 2017 at 11:41am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2017, 11:54am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
Adjust it with what count? Supported rule count
The NFHS Mechanics manual, pgae 11: "Remember, an officials count (backcourt, throw-in, etc.) may be used to correct an obvious timing error."

This phrase seems to suggest that the count should be visible, but it does not explicitly say so. I interpret "an official's count" to mean "when an official is counting", which may or may not be visible. Thus, I am allowed to count in my head in this situation and adjust the clock as necessary.

Personally, I have my hand at my side and snap my fingers in rhythm with the clock. That has worked quite well for me judging the release of the last-second shot and correcting a timing mistake like the one in the OP.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2017, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
Adjust it with what count? Supported rule count

You have to catch it right away and leave it at 5.0 and go from original spot
I don't know why so many officials take this stance. If I'm counting in my head, then I have "an official's count". Why would you mess things up more by pretending no time elapsed when you (or one of the other officials) knows how much time elapsed?

SECTION 10 TIMING MISTAKES
ART. 2 . . . If the referee determines that the clock malfunctioned or was not started/stopped properly, or if the clock did not run, an official’s count or other official information may be used to make a correction.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2017, 12:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
I don't know why so many officials take this stance. If I'm counting in my head, then I have "an official's count". Why would you mess things up more by pretending no time elapsed when you (or one of the other officials) knows how much time elapsed?

SECTION 10 TIMING MISTAKES
ART. 2 . . . If the referee determines that the clock malfunctioned or was not started/stopped properly, or if the clock did not run, an official’s count or other official information may be used to make a correction.
I agree and think you can have your own count even when not ten second or 5 count etc. But if you are thinking about doing that with 5 left .....communicate with the timer and your partners before ball inbounded. I will say something to the timer and my partners. talking to the timer usually solves any issues but there are timers who might be a little slow on the trigger. one of us has to see that the clock didn't start. right away..(unless you see an immediate scoring play off the inbounds..then id wait....)timing mistakes at end can be nightmare. always communicate..

Last edited by BigCat; Tue Oct 31, 2017 at 12:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2017, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
We've had this discussion numerous times before on this site.
I've always advocated the following:
1. Only the Referee may correct a timing mistake. The Referee may take input from the umpire(s), but must make the final decision.
2. Once the throw-in is touched inbounds, it is over and any stoppage for a timing error now results in a POI throw-in. There are no do-overs under NFHS rules.
3. 2-7-9 lists the officials counts during the contest. Those are what may be used to correct an unnoticed timing mistake.
4. If an official notices that the clock did not properly start or has improperly stopped and does not wish to halt play immediately because a scoring playing is in progress, the official needs to start a visible count and continue it until either halting play for a correction or to signal that time has expired. Having this count be visible is important because it can be verified via video in the event of a complaint.
5. If the clock improperly starts prematurely, prior to the ball being touched inbounds, an official needs to notice and stop play immediately and before the ball is touched inbounds. The time can then be restored and the game resumed from where that the throw-in was located. If already touched, then POI is required and some small amount of time must be deducted for the inbounds touching.
6. If no visible counts were made while the clock was not properly running, then no correction can occur, other than a small deduction for a throw-in catch or touching. This is unfortunate, but officials can't make their best guess nor use non-visible counts which aren't part of 2-7-9. There does not exist a single NFHS ruling or Case Book play in which an official counts in his head and uses that for a correction.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Tue Oct 31, 2017 at 04:26pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2017, 04:54pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Last Several Seconds Of All Periods ...

I always have a mental, silent, nonvisible, count inside my head for the last several seconds of all periods, and I would use it in this situation. In the rare event that I didn't have such a count, I would never go back and try to figure out the count from memory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
SECTION 10 TIMING MISTAKES (ART. 1 The referee may correct an obvious mistake by the timer to start or stop the clock properly only when he/she has definite information relative to the time involved. The exact time observed by the official may be placed on the clock.) ART. 2 . If the referee determines that the clock malfunctioned or was not started/stopped properly, or if the clock did not run, an official’s count or other official information may be used to make a correction.
Call my mental, silent, nonvisible, count inside my head an "official’s count", or if that doesn't work for some of you because it's not visible, then call it "other official information". It certainly was "observed" by me (mentally, silently, nonvisibly, inside my head).

If that still doesn't work for you then add a dash of "purpose and intent", not too much, just a dash, we don't want to overdo it.

Still not satisfied? Maybe stir in a little of this (although I prefer the flavor of the rulebook over the manual):

Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
The NFHS Mechanics manual, page 11: "Remember, an officials count (backcourt, throw-in, etc.) may be used to correct an obvious timing error"
Etcetera (a number of unspecified additional items) is pretty open ended.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Oct 31, 2017 at 05:18pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2017, 05:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
We've had this discussion numerous times before on this site.
I've always advocated the following:
1. Only the Referee may correct a timing mistake. The Referee may take input from the umpire(s), but must make the final decision.
2. Once the throw-in is touched inbounds, it is over and any stoppage for a timing error now results in a POI throw-in. There are no do-overs under NFHS rules.
3. 2-7-9 lists the officials counts during the contest. Those are what may be used to correct an unnoticed timing mistake.
4. If an official notices that the clock did not properly start or has improperly stopped and does not wish to halt play immediately because a scoring playing is in progress, the official needs to start a visible count and continue it until either halting play for a correction or to signal that time has expired. Having this count be visible is important because it can be verified via video in the event of a complaint.
5. If the clock improperly starts prematurely, prior to the ball being touched inbounds, an official needs to notice and stop play immediately and before the ball is touched inbounds. The time can then be restored and the game resumed from where that the throw-in was located. If already touched, then POI is required and some small amount of time must be deducted for the inbounds touching.
6. If no visible counts were made while the clock was not properly running, then no correction can occur, other than a small deduction for a throw-in catch or touching. This is unfortunate, but officials can't make their best guess nor use non-visible counts which aren't part of 2-7-9. There does not exist a single NFHS ruling or Case Book play in which an official counts in his head and uses that for a correction.
I disagree that a visible count is required. Can it help you on video? Sure. I'm not really worried about saving my a..as much as getting it right at end of game. The video will play and people will be able to judge from it how much time went by etc. if I count to myself I will trust it and act accordingly. My arm doesn't need to move in my opinion. I don't visibly count 3 seconds in front Court. My determination of 3 counts just the same.

I agree with mostvelse.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2017, 05:21pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Advantage, Big Cat ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
I don't visibly count 3 seconds ...
(Great post. Maybe Post O' The Week.)

Nor do I, but I would use it in a New York minute to come up with definite knowledge in this situation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2017, 07:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
We've had this discussion numerous times before on this site.
I've always advocated the following:

6. If no visible counts were made while the clock was not properly running, then no correction can occur, other than a small deduction for a throw-in catch or touching. This is unfortunate, but officials can't make their best guess nor use non-visible counts which aren't part of 2-7-9. There does not exist a single NFHS ruling or Case Book play in which an official counts in his head and uses that for a correction.
I agree with everything you said except this. The correction rule also allows for "other information". That can be just about anything. If the official is counting, how cares if it is provable on video. I don't care about what is provable. I'm doing what is right and what is supportable by the rules.

As for whether a ruling or case exists allowing it, there isn't one saying you can't do it that way either.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 01, 2017, 02:42pm
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I agree with everything you said except this. The correction rule also allows for "other information". That can be just about anything. If the official is counting, how cares if it is provable on video. I don't care about what is provable. I'm doing what is right and what is supportable by the rules.

As for whether a ruling or case exists allowing it, there isn't one saying you can't do it that way either.
You agreed that there should be a small deduction for the throw in touch.

A dribble and shot are part of the scenario. I am not sure how you can go back to the throw in touch if the play was not blown dead at this point. If a dribble and shot take place, giving the ball back to the throw in team with essentially the same amount of time left is much worse than approximating how much time expired and awarding the ball to the rebounding team or going to the arrow if a rebound was not secured when the whistle sounded. Hopefully some one has a count. If not, we have to do our best to establish that.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2017, 09:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
5. If the clock improperly starts prematurely, prior to the ball being touched inbounds, an official needs to notice and stop play immediately and before the ball is touched inbounds. The time can then be restored and the game resumed from where that the throw-in was located.
While I generally agree, I will offer the scenario where the throw-in is errant and a.) Going to be stolen or b.) Going to result in a throw-in violation. It can be very easy to see the running clock and blow it dead before realizing you just screwed the defense out of gaining possession. Yes, I've had this happen. Sure, it's the timer's fault and not yours, but nobody is going to see it that way.

In that instance, I'd advise blowing it dead after control is established, and subtracting the time allowed for the touch(es).
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 01, 2017, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 536
I'd like Rich, as an assignor, to weigh in on this. Any other assignors out there that would care to say if you'd support the no visible count time deduction?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2017, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
There are two options supported by rule: you can either blow it dead and adjust the clock and inbound from the POI, or you can blow it dead, leave the clock where is was originally, and inbound from the original location.

I don't think that is supported by rule (maybe I am mis-understanding it)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2017, 12:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
There are two options supported by rule: you can either blow it dead and adjust the clock and inbound from the POI, or you can blow it dead, leave the clock where is was originally, and inbound from the original location.
no do overs from the original spot. you may have to leave 5 seconds because you have no other definite knowledge but the ball would go in play to wherever it was when you killed it. i haven't gotten my head into the rules like I should just yet but I don't know where you can go back to the original location under the rules...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to handle this situation alabamabluezebra Football 3 Tue Aug 24, 2004 11:04am
How do you handle this situation? alabamabluezebra Softball 7 Fri Jun 06, 2003 02:22pm
Tell me how you handle this situation . . . Gold_Spark Baseball 7 Sat Aug 24, 2002 01:20pm
clock situation in AAU game 112448 Basketball 19 Thu Mar 22, 2001 06:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1