The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 24, 2017, 01:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I'm not granting the time-out after the IW because I'm not asking the coach if he still wants the time-out. I'm going to say "Inadvertent Whistle" and IMMEDIATELY put the ball back in play.
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
You cannot do what BNR suggested. The clock is legally stopped. The coach can legally call a TO. The only thing that cannot be done, I'm fairly sure of this, is call in substitutions during an IW stoppage of play.
There are two case plays from the 2016-17 NCAA Casebook that deals with IW timeout requests:

Quote:
AR 46 Pg 17
Team A scores with 59.9 seconds left to play in the second half.
2. The official inadvertently blows his whistle to recognize a timeout
request by Team A when the ball is at Team B’s disposal for a throw-in:

RULING:
2: The inadvertent whistle shall be ignored. When Team A requests a
timeout during this dead ball, the timeout shall be recognized and
granted since the request occurred during the dead ball created by the inadvertent whistle. Substitutions are permitted during this
timeout period. However, when a timeout is not requested, there
shall be no substitution during the dead ball period created by the
inadvertent whistle.
(Rule 3-6.1.h)

A.R. 132, Pg 45
Player A1 is airborne and momentum is carrying him out of
bounds. A1, while airborne and in control of the ball, requests a timeout.
The official:
1. Inadvertently blows the whistle; or
2. Blows the whistle and immediately grants a timeout.

RULING: In both (1) and (2), the officials shall not recognize this
request. The official’s whistle is an inadvertent whistle that caused the
ball to become dead. Play will be resumed at the point of interruption
by awarding the ball to Team A, the team in control, at a designated
spot nearest to where the ball was located. Before placing the ball at
Team A’s disposal for a throw-in, the official is permitted to inquire as
to whether Team A still wants a timeout.

(Rule 5-15.1.c, 4-20, 4-27.1.a, and 7-4.17)
The fine line is if the official will "inquire" the Coach who requested the timeout if he still wants the timeout. Putting the ball immediately back in play by the official appears as a viable option.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coach requesting specific officials Fifty Percent Volleyball 3 Mon Nov 07, 2016 01:01am
Confusion w/Coach Requesting TO Freddy Basketball 3 Fri Jan 25, 2008 07:47pm
Partner tosses coach in first minute of game! Mark Padgett Basketball 69 Mon Jan 14, 2008 09:40pm
Coach wants a timeout... DC_Ref12 Basketball 75 Tue May 29, 2007 04:06pm
NCAA last minute subs TriggerMN Basketball 1 Sun Dec 04, 2005 12:57pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1