View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 24, 2017, 02:06pm
deecee deecee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
There are two case plays from the 2016-17 NCAA Casebook that deals with IW timeout requests:



The fine line is if the official will "inquire" the Coach who requested the timeout if he still wants the timeout. Putting the ball immediately back in play by the official appears as a viable option.
You have misunderstood the rulings. One play involves a coach requesting a TO when they are not allowed, and the other is a player. Saying the official is permitted to inquire if they still want the TO is an acknowledgement that ONE hasn't been granted yet, it's not "an official can flat out ignore a legal TO request."

Also NOT granting a coach a TO when he can legally request one (during a stoppage of play) will guarantee a call from your assignor IF the coach contacts said assignor (which in my experience with this stuff they will).
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote