![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Are we still discussing fouls which occur during a jump-stop? Too many paragraphs above for me to keep up.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Thu Jan 26, 2017 at 02:46pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
BNR: We are still discussing it because far too many officials are under the mistaken impression that W4 was not fouled in the act of shooting. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
|
The Article
Mark, Thanks for the article from Referee Magazine. I read it and now can definitely say "before the shoot"
The contact occurred during the gathering of the ball to do a jump stop. There was no contact when the player started an upward habitual motion to shoot. I do not know about the rest of you, but, I can not read a players mind when doing a jump stop as to what they are going to do next. I have to wait and see. In this case, we had contact just as the jump "stop' begin" and a foul was called. The jump stop was completed after the foul was called. Then the player throw up a shoot after the after the foul had already taken place. "before the shoot". I like that phrasing. Thanks for the article! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Your plays are like Kareem dribbling, back in in opponent. When he ends dribble he gives a head and shoulder fake to the right. leans that way. his left foot would come up off ground at times or it would simply slide to right a bit. He then would pick it up and go back left quick and sky hook. If he is fouled after ending the dribble and during the head and shoulder fake right.(left foot in air) that is not a shooting foul. He hasn't started a shot yet. If he starts back left and then is fouled we have something to talk about. Kevin McHale had great footwork. Reverse pivot, step through etc. He did all that after ending a dribble at times….but I'm not giving him two in a high school or college game after he ends the dribble and while he is doing his reverse pivot. He just hasn't started shooting yet. |
|
|||
|
Jump stop does not equal shot.
So because the foul happens in mid jump stop she does not get continuation. If she has landed the jump stop and could as she is beginning her shooting motion I would be ok with it. Can step be part of a shooting motion sure. That doesn't mean it is. So every time someone gets bumped in stride and then lifts the ball to fire it once they hear the whistle they aren't getting continuation either. I have to believe the movement is part of their shooting motion, them shooting or not shooting it at the end (as we've debated numerous times) has nothing to do with whether they were in the act of shooting when fouled.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game! Me: Thanks, but why the big rush. Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we! |
|
|||
|
A jump stop is not the beginning of a shooting motion. It's the beginning of a player standing on 2 feet holding the ball. I had a game Tuesday night where every time the guard executed a jump stop he passed the ball. 100% of the time. He would penetrate, jump stop, then kick out to a jump shooter.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Does RPP apply? | Coach Bill | Basketball | 8 | Thu Jan 12, 2012 05:47pm |
| Apply NFHS to WSH-Tampa Playoff | FredFan7 | Football | 8 | Mon Jan 09, 2006 01:18pm |
| Does pass interferance really apply? | kbarnett | Football | 9 | Fri Oct 29, 2004 05:18pm |
| Does PSK apply? | GPC2 | Football | 2 | Fri Aug 27, 2004 10:14am |
| I know the NFL rules don't apply to us, but... | OverAndBack | Football | 7 | Thu Aug 19, 2004 04:03am |