The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 05:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 201
I want to see the girl hold the ball for 4 seconds after the jumpstop, launch, and have MTD count the bucket.

I'll pay the young lady's way to Ohio.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 06:07pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,169
I am sitting in the dressing room getting ready to officiate a Special Olympics game at 06:30pm so I do not have the capability of quoting chapter and verse. This is my first game officiating since January 12th and I really should not be officiating (those select few know why) but against my family and my doctors' better judgement I am going to suck it up and officiate through the hip pain.

That said, I think that everyone taking part in this discussion will agree that W-4 stopped her dribble while her left foot was in contact with the court and her right foot was not. She then continued non-stop (continuously): to jump off of her left foot, then land, simultaneously on both feet, and jumped off both feet simultaneously, and while in the air released the ball toward Team W's basket and the ball went through her team's basket.

Now, let us take B-10 out of the play. In other words B-10 does not foul W-4. I would like to ask all of those members of the forum who have taken the position that W-4 was not fouled in the act of shooting to tell me if W-4's basket should or should not be scored, and why? Please do not forget to quote chapter and verse.

Time to join Mark, Jr., on the court. Later tonight everyone.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 06:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
I am sitting in the dressing room getting ready to officiate a Special Olympics game at 06:30pm so I do not have the capability of quoting chapter and verse. This is my first game officiating since January 12th and I really should not be officiating (those select few know why) but against my family and my doctors' better judgement I am going to suck it up and officiate through the hip pain.

That said, I think that everyone taking part in this discussion will agree that W-4 stopped her dribble while her left foot was in contact with the court and her right foot was not. She then continued non-stop (continuously): to jump off of her left foot, then land, simultaneously on both feet, and jumped off both feet simultaneously, and while in the air released the ball toward Team W's basket and the ball went through her team's basket.

Now, let us take B-10 out of the play. In other words B-10 does not foul W-4. I would like to ask all of those members of the forum who have taken the position that W-4 was not fouled in the act of shooting to tell me if W-4's basket should or should not be scored, and why? Please do not forget to quote chapter and verse.

Time to join Mark, Jr., on the court. Later tonight everyone.

MTD, Sr.
Count it....uhhh, because live ball went through basket. There is nothing in this video showing player began her throwing motion until after she landed on jump stop. The jump stop doesn't count as part of the act because foot movement doesn't count until you are in the act. Begin throwing motion.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 07:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Mark, I'm going to humor you and ask you how your question is relevant. You can't take out a major part of the play like that. Of course the shot would have counted if she hadn't been fouled.

You're saying the shooting motion starts when she begins her jump stop?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 07:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Mark, I'm going to humor you and ask you how your question is relevant. You can't take out a major part of the play like that. Of course the shot would have counted if she hadn't been fouled.

You're saying the shooting motion starts when she begins her jump stop?
I know you are asking him but that is what he said in paragraph 11 of his ...whatever we call it. He actually said it starts when the dribble ends. Same thing..different words
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 07:41pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
I know you are asking him but that is what he said in paragraph 11 of his ...whatever we call it. He actually said it starts when the dribble ends. Same thing..different words
I honestly didn't read this version of the dissertation. Thanks for taking the time for me.

I'll just quickly disagree with that assessment of this particular play.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I honestly didn't read this version of the dissertation. Thanks for taking the time for me.

I'll just quickly disagree with that assessment of this particular play.
Yes, for some reason I read it all
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2017, 03:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse James View Post
I want to see the girl hold the ball for 4 seconds after the jumpstop, launch, and have MTD count the bucket.

I'll pay the young lady's way to Ohio.
It does say "continuous motion".
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does RPP apply? Coach Bill Basketball 8 Thu Jan 12, 2012 05:47pm
Apply NFHS to WSH-Tampa Playoff FredFan7 Football 8 Mon Jan 09, 2006 01:18pm
Does pass interferance really apply? kbarnett Football 9 Fri Oct 29, 2004 05:18pm
Does PSK apply? GPC2 Football 2 Fri Aug 27, 2004 10:14am
I know the NFL rules don't apply to us, but... OverAndBack Football 7 Thu Aug 19, 2004 04:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1