The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2017, 01:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 38
Does Continuation Apply?

Rule 4.41.3 The try starts when the player begins the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball.

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2017, 02:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Geesh. He called the foul on the contact that happened before she even hit the ground after jump stop. She obviously isn't started up yet. Again, not even a close call..

Is number 4 your daughter by chance? I know you are for your kids so I don't want to be harsh... but I dont see any of these plays in her/your favor..

Last edited by BigCat; Sat Jan 21, 2017 at 02:11am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2017, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Why is the defender wearing a white shirt under her blue jersey?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2017, 10:33am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Tip Of The Hat To Walt Kelly ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Why is the defender wearing a white shirt under her blue jersey?


The day after our interpreter, in a monthly board meeting, told us that enforcing the equipment color restrictions was not optional, I had a veteran official tell me that he didn't enforce the restrictions in his game because it was only a junior varsity game.

A few days later, on the first page of the newspaper's sports section, was a large above the fold photo from the biggest girls varsity game of the night (maybe of the entire season) in the entire state, officiated by another local board. Dark gray undershirt under a white jersey.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jan 21, 2017 at 04:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post


The day after our interpreter, in a monthly board meeting, told us that enforcing the equipment color restrictions was not optional, I had a veteran official tell me that he didn't enforce the restrictions in his game because it was only a junior varsity game.

A few days later, on the first page of the newspaper's sports section, was a large above the fold photo from the biggest girls varsity game of the night (maybe of the entire season) in the entire state, officiated by another local board. Dark gray undershirt under a white jersey.
*ohhhh noooo!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2017, 11:47am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Why is the defender wearing a white shirt under her blue jersey?
Interesting, but I am trying to figure out why the videos are so big in the thread?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2017, 11:49am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
Not shooting foul if you ask me. The move was a jump stop, not an active part of the shot.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 07:05am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,142
I am joining the party late with regard to this thread but there are a select few on this Forum that understand why I have not be responding in a more timely manner. None-the-less I would like to add my two cents to the conversation.


FIRST: With respect to the size of the screen: I like the full size screen embedded into the post. I find that it makes it easier for me to make stop-action viewing of the video.


SECOND: Yes, I also noticed the white undershirt being worn by B-10, and BillyMac is already thinking that the officials ignoring this infraction really fried my tuchus. !


THIRD: I want to address the play being discussed. I want to apologize in advance for the length of my comments, and including in some instances quoting the entire rule rather than just giving the rule number. But those old hands of the Forum that know me, know that I can be very methodical (it is just my profession creeping into my breakdown of basketball officiating plays) and I believe that the play being discussed lends itself to being broken down almost second-by-second, frame-by-frame because the number of rule sections that must be applied in order to get the correct call. Therefore, without further ado, I will address the following comments by other members of the Forum.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedAndWhiteRef View Post
I have the foul before the shot as well. Had she thrown the ball at the basket before finishing the jump stop, I would have a shooting foul (not that it was really feasible in this situation).
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
"No shot. Possession underneath."
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Geesh. He called the foul on the contact that happened before she even hit the ground after jump stop. She obviously isn't started up yet. Again, not even a close call..

Is number 4 your daughter by chance? I know you are for your kids so I don't want to be harsh... but I dont see any of these plays in her/your favor..
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Not shooting foul if you ask me. The move was a jump stop, not an active part of the shot.

Peace
1) The first foul I see by B-10 against W-4 is at T = 0:10 while W-4 is still dribbling the ball. But I do not think that is the foul that we are discussing; I think that we would agree that we all would pass on the hand check foul.

2) W-4 ends her dribble by letting the ball come to rest in both of her hands while her left foot is on the floor and her right foot off the floor at 11.0 = T < 11.5.

3) I believe the foul the poster wants to discuss and the one we are discussing occurs at 0:11.5 = T < 12.0.

4) NFHS R4-S44-A2b2 says: "Traveling is moving a foot or feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits while holding the ball. The limits on foot movements are as follows: A player, who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot if one foot is on the floor. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case."

5) NFHS R4-S44-A3b says: "Traveling is moving a foot or feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits while holding the ball. The limits on foot movements are as follows: After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal."

6) NFHS R4-S11-A1 says: "Continuous motion applies to a try or tap for field goals and free throws, but it has no significance unless there is a foul by any defensive player during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight."

7) NFHS R4-S11-A2 says: "If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or *stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight."

8) NFHS R4-S41-A3 says: "The try starts when the player begins the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball."

9) (4) and (5) tells us that W-4 can end her dribble while her left foot is in contact with the court and her right foot is not in contact with the court. She can then jump off her left foot and land simultaneously on both feet. She can then jump off both feet to release the ball to either pass the ball or attempt a shot.

10) We also know that a player cannot shoot the ball while dribbling the ball. That means that a player dribbling the ball must stop her dribble in order to shoot the ball.

11) Combining (8), (9), and (10) tells us that W-4's shot started when she ended her dribble and ended when she released the ball. Therefore, by rule, W-4 was fouled by B-10 while in the act of shooting. This also applies to NCAA Men's/Women's. Some of you will say that the I am applying the NBA/WNBA rule to the NFHS and NCAA Men'/Women's rule. And while the wording of the NBA/WNBA rule is not the same as the NFHS and NCAA Men's/Women's rules, the application is the same.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2017, 12:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Interesting, but I am trying to figure out why the videos are so big in the thread?

Peace
You can specify how big they should be...







__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Sat Jan 21, 2017 at 01:10pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2017, 12:38pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
You can specify how big they should be...
I'm aware, it is just too darn big for a normal screen on this website.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2017, 09:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Virginia
Posts: 120
I have the foul before the shot as well. Had she thrown the ball at the basket before finishing the jump stop, I would have a shooting foul (not that it was really feasible in this situation).
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2017, 10:31am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Unless They're In The Bonus ...

"No shot. Possession underneath."
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jan 21, 2017 at 10:41am.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2017, 09:41am
Aztec-Irishman
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 54
[QUOTE=xyrph;998045]Rule 4.41.3 The try starts when the player begins the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball.

Interesting observations from prior comments.

Are we applying Rule 4.11.2 correctly:
ART. 2 . . . If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to
complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the
usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted
only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in
flight.
__________________
Tomorrow is promised to no one. Stay thirsty my friend!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2017, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gutierrez7 View Post
Are we applying Rule 4.11.2 correctly:
First, a rule uses dashes -- so it's 4-11-2.

Second, some of us are. One person from Ohio (who shouldn't be officiating right now but is, and a select few here know why) is not.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2017, 02:05pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
It's footwork after the foul and before the release that matters. Landing and jump stopping doesn't fit that criteria.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does RPP apply? Coach Bill Basketball 8 Thu Jan 12, 2012 05:47pm
Apply NFHS to WSH-Tampa Playoff FredFan7 Football 8 Mon Jan 09, 2006 01:18pm
Does pass interferance really apply? kbarnett Football 9 Fri Oct 29, 2004 05:18pm
Does PSK apply? GPC2 Football 2 Fri Aug 27, 2004 10:14am
I know the NFL rules don't apply to us, but... OverAndBack Football 7 Thu Aug 19, 2004 04:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1