The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2017, 01:08am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,732
End of game situation

Saw this tonight.

Team A inbounding ball on endline in backcourt, 1.9 seconds left, needing to go length of court. Run a play, and makes a long pass to A1 at 3 point line in frontcourt. As A1 catches the ball, the horn sounds. Clock was started early. Clock was started as the pass was in the air. What do you do?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2017, 01:34am
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
2009-2010 Interpretations #11 should help answer this.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2017, 05:59am
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Maeder View Post
2009-2010 Interpretations #11 should help answer this.
SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2s touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2s throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A do over is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2017, 07:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
Saw this tonight.

Team A inbounding ball on endline in backcourt, 1.9 seconds left, needing to go length of court. Run a play, and makes a long pass to A1 at 3 point line in frontcourt. As A1 catches the ball, the horn sounds. Clock was started early. Clock was started as the pass was in the air. What do you do?
If it was close enough, between ball being dead for end of period or end of throw in, I'm starting over. Although I would be open to running some 10ths off the clock and giving A the ball at the spot closest to where caught.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2017, 09:39am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,732
The catch and horn were almost simultaneous. They put 1.9 back on and replayed.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2017, 09:45am
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
The catch and horn were almost simultaneous. They put 1.9 back on and replayed.
This was almost definitely the correct way to resolve it.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 08, 2017, 11:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 55
Coach here. Had this happen once, not the 4th quarter. 2.4 on the clock, have the ball near the division line. Have my big guy on the block. Inbounder throws to my big guy who catches and shoots a little fadaway and releases just after the buzzer sounds. Time between catch and release was probably around one second. Officials convene and after some discussion decide that it was a timing error and we retry from 2.4. Needless to say we didn't get as good of a shot off on the redo.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2017, 12:10am
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
This is why a redo is not the answer. Part C says if throw in is over go to spot of first touch and take some time off the clock. I would take off 3/10ths and in bound from end line closest to where the ball was first touched. You lost your element of surprise. Why should you be penalized for a timing mistake.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2017, 01:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Maeder View Post
This is why a redo is not the answer. Part C says if throw in is over go to spot of first touch and take some time off the clock. I would take off 3/10ths and in bound from end line closest to where the ball was first touched. You lost your element of surprise. Why should you be penalized for a timing mistake.
Why would you take 3/10ths off when the poster states that the time from catch to release and the horn sounding was about one second?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2017, 01:12am
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
Because the only definite knowledge I have is that it takes 3/10ths of a second to catch the ball. Any more or less I would be guessing as the clock was not correct anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2017, 01:17am
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Maeder View Post
it takes 3/10ths of a second to catch the ball
Do you have a source for this?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2017, 01:23am
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
5-2-5
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2017, 01:26am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
.3 is assigned as the amount of time required to catch and shoot. There is no shot to consider in the OP.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2017, 01:29am
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Maeder View Post
5-2-5
That's a catch-and-shoot, not just a catch.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2017, 01:30am
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
.3 is assigned as the amount of time required to catch and shoot. There is no shot to consider in the OP.
To clarify for others, 0.3 is NOT enough time to catch and shoot under NFHS rules, you must have 0.4 seconds or more.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Game Situation habram Basketball 14 Fri Dec 06, 2013 09:01am
End of game situation rfp Basketball 136 Tue Nov 24, 2009 08:56pm
Game Situation radwaste50 Baseball 9 Sun May 08, 2005 10:34pm
End of Game Situation BigGref Basketball 8 Wed Dec 03, 2003 10:41am
Game Situation RookieDude Basketball 21 Sat Feb 17, 2001 01:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1