The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   End of game situation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102055-end-game-situation.html)

OKREF Fri Jan 06, 2017 01:08am

End of game situation
 
Saw this tonight.

Team A inbounding ball on endline in backcourt, 1.9 seconds left, needing to go length of court. Run a play, and makes a long pass to A1 at 3 point line in frontcourt. As A1 catches the ball, the horn sounds. Clock was started early. Clock was started as the pass was in the air. What do you do?

Ed Maeder Fri Jan 06, 2017 01:34am

2009-2010 Interpretations #11 should help answer this.

Freddy Fri Jan 06, 2017 05:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ed Maeder (Post 996515)
2009-2010 Interpretations #11 should help answer this.

SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2s touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2s throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A do over is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)

deecee Fri Jan 06, 2017 07:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 996513)
Saw this tonight.

Team A inbounding ball on endline in backcourt, 1.9 seconds left, needing to go length of court. Run a play, and makes a long pass to A1 at 3 point line in frontcourt. As A1 catches the ball, the horn sounds. Clock was started early. Clock was started as the pass was in the air. What do you do?

If it was close enough, between ball being dead for end of period or end of throw in, I'm starting over. Although I would be open to running some 10ths off the clock and giving A the ball at the spot closest to where caught.

OKREF Fri Jan 06, 2017 09:39am

The catch and horn were almost simultaneous. They put 1.9 back on and replayed.

MD Longhorn Fri Jan 06, 2017 09:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 996528)
The catch and horn were almost simultaneous. They put 1.9 back on and replayed.

This was almost definitely the correct way to resolve it.

BDevil15 Sun Jan 08, 2017 11:53pm

Coach here. Had this happen once, not the 4th quarter. 2.4 on the clock, have the ball near the division line. Have my big guy on the block. Inbounder throws to my big guy who catches and shoots a little fadaway and releases just after the buzzer sounds. Time between catch and release was probably around one second. Officials convene and after some discussion decide that it was a timing error and we retry from 2.4. Needless to say we didn't get as good of a shot off on the redo.

Ed Maeder Mon Jan 09, 2017 12:10am

This is why a redo is not the answer. Part C says if throw in is over go to spot of first touch and take some time off the clock. I would take off 3/10ths and in bound from end line closest to where the ball was first touched. You lost your element of surprise. Why should you be penalized for a timing mistake.

Nevadaref Mon Jan 09, 2017 01:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ed Maeder (Post 996698)
This is why a redo is not the answer. Part C says if throw in is over go to spot of first touch and take some time off the clock. I would take off 3/10ths and in bound from end line closest to where the ball was first touched. You lost your element of surprise. Why should you be penalized for a timing mistake.

Why would you take 3/10ths off when the poster states that the time from catch to release and the horn sounding was about one second?

Ed Maeder Mon Jan 09, 2017 01:12am

Because the only definite knowledge I have is that it takes 3/10ths of a second to catch the ball. Any more or less I would be guessing as the clock was not correct anyway.

AremRed Mon Jan 09, 2017 01:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ed Maeder (Post 996706)
it takes 3/10ths of a second to catch the ball

Do you have a source for this?

Ed Maeder Mon Jan 09, 2017 01:23am

5-2-5

just another ref Mon Jan 09, 2017 01:26am

.3 is assigned as the amount of time required to catch and shoot. There is no shot to consider in the OP.

AremRed Mon Jan 09, 2017 01:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ed Maeder (Post 996708)
5-2-5

That's a catch-and-shoot, not just a catch.

AremRed Mon Jan 09, 2017 01:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 996709)
.3 is assigned as the amount of time required to catch and shoot. There is no shot to consider in the OP.

To clarify for others, 0.3 is NOT enough time to catch and shoot under NFHS rules, you must have 0.4 seconds or more.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1