The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 31, 2016, 01:27pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
He didn't move his pivot foot while holding the ball. He didn't start a dribble after lifting the pivot foot. He let the ball hit what is treated the same as the floor after throwing the ball into the air...except that it is expressly not considered a dribble.

What part of the travel rule was broken?
4-44-3: After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot the pivot foot may be lifted but not returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal .

Throwing the ball against the board in this case, according to you, apparently is neither of these.

4.44.3 C b: A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it.
tr
Ruling: Since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is illegal.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove

Last edited by just another ref; Sun Jan 01, 2017 at 01:24pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 31, 2016, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
4-44-3: After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot the pivot foot may be lifted but not returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or dribble.

Throwing the ball against the board in this case, according to you, apparently is neither of these.

4.44.3 C b: A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it.

Ruling: Since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is illegal.
apples and oranges comparison
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 31, 2016, 02:54pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
apples and oranges comparison

Agree, but this play is an apple, and everything else is an orange.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 01, 2017, 02:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
4-44-3: After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot the pivot foot may be lifted but not returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or dribble.

Throwing the ball against the board in this case, according to you, apparently is neither of these.
First, you have a typo, you meant try of goal, not dribble in your quote.

Then you forgot this fundamental part of the travel rule:

Quote:
Traveling is moving a foot or feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits while holding the ball. The limits on foot movements are as follows:
If the player is not holding the ball when the feet are moved, the article you cite is not applicable nor are any of the other articles in the traveling section.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Sun Jan 01, 2017 at 03:05am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 01, 2017, 01:32pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
First, you have a typo, you meant try of goal, not dribble in your quote.

Then you forgot this fundamental part of the travel rule:



If the player is not holding the ball when the feet are moved, the article you cite is not applicable nor are any of the other articles in the traveling section.
You're right about the typo. I corrected it, my apologies. As for the fundamental part of the rule, the case play cited is what it is, and apparently is an exception to that fundamental. You don't call this a travel?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 01, 2017, 03:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
You're right about the typo. I corrected it, my apologies. As for the fundamental part of the rule, the case play cited is what it is, and apparently is an exception to that fundamental. You don't call this a travel?
(Assuming you're talking about case wherein a player throws the ball over an opponents head and catches it without letting it hit the floor).

I do, only because the NFHS has made it clear that they view that as an unintended advantage. Rather than rewrite the rule to cover it, they cover it by spirit by way of a case play.

Likewise, the throwing off the backboard, is expressly allowed by case play. As I'm thinking about it and the reasons why, I'm considering changing my mind on whether the player would be allowed to dribble again. Essentially, throwing it off the backboard is, in most aspects, treated the same, in spirit, as throwing it off another player or a try.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 01, 2017, 04:00pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Essentially, throwing it off the backboard is, in most aspects, treated the same, in spirit, as throwing it off another player or a try.
Agreed, and with that in mind, he can move to catch the throw off the board, and he can start a new dribble afterward. Neither is specifically allowed. So if one is illegal, it seems that the other would be illegal.

I would allow both.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 03, 2017, 05:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Agreed, and with that in mind, he can move to catch the throw off the board, and he can start a new dribble afterward. Neither is specifically allowed. So if one is illegal, it seems that the other would be illegal.

I would allow both.
Here is a play I had several years ago. Player A steals the ball and is going in for a dunk. He throws the ball off the backboard and attempts a tomahawk slam. But he is too far from the basket and lands with the ball. in hand. He goes back up and two hand slams the ball. I called a travel simply because I never saw that play before. But researching that play later, I believe that it was legal and I should have allowed the goal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reference help: Ball location Bad Zebra Basketball 10 Sat Feb 11, 2012 04:43pm
Throwing the ball off of a player - T? cshs81 Basketball 20 Mon Jan 14, 2008 08:37pm
Throwing the ball off the backboard Back In The Saddle Basketball 17 Mon Jan 16, 2006 07:12pm
throwing bat at ball malasto Baseball 13 Fri Oct 01, 2004 02:36pm
Throwing ball off of backboard and catching Rich Basketball 3 Mon Dec 16, 2002 02:03pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1