![]() |
|
|
|||
Backcourt Violation?
I seem to remember an old case play on this.
Team A has ball in FC. B1 smacks the ball down into the FC and then it bounces over the center line. A1 catches the ball while in the back court before the ball bounces in the backcourt. I seem to remember this being a backcourt violation. Am I remembering correctly? |
|
|||
Quote:
frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt. At what point is the ball in the backcourt in my example? When it's caught by A1 , correct? So the question is regarding the ball not touching the BC. It's not in the BC until it's caught by A1. I'm sure there was an old case play on this but can't find it. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
If the ball never touched the backcourt i.e. the floor then who was the last to touch it when it had FC status? |
|
|||
Quote:
If A1 in BC passes to A2 in FC, but the ball does not bounce, does the ball have FC status? |
|
|||
Quote:
As Adam said, the rule says BEFORE. At most, we have the ball simultaneously in FC and BC when A1 touches it. The rule says player can't be first to touch ball after it been in team control in FC if she or teammate last touched ball in FC BEFORE it went to BC. This is simultaneous, not before. i don't have a violation. |
|
|||
The ball maintains frontcourt status while in the air, and so, when the team A player, standing in backcourt is first to touch the ball, that player becomes the last to touch the ball while it has frontcourt status, and in the same instant, he/she is the first to touch the ball when it obtains backcourt status.
Additionally, if the player had allowed the ball to touch the floor in team A's backcourt, thus obtaining backcourt status before that player touched the ball, no violation would occur. The difficulty in the logic is that the same instant of touching constitutes both a frontcourt and a backcourt status. Thus, that logic is seen as cumbersome, faulty, and difficult to explain to observers, especially coaches.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . . ![]() |
|
|||
[QUOTE=Rob1968;995339]The ball maintains frontcourt status while in the air, and so, when the team A player, standing in backcourt is first to touch the ball, that player becomes the last to touch the ball while it has frontcourt status, and in the same instant, he/she is the first to touch the ball when it obtains backcourt status.
/QUOTE] That is not correct. The rule requires that A be the last to touch the ball BEFORE it returns to the backcourt. "Before" is a very clear word. Touching it in the backcourt is not touching it before touching it in the backcourt. And simply wrong.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
[QUOTE=Camron Rust;995356]
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
The "in the FC" language refers to the location of the player when he or she touches the ball. Not the status of the ball. In your play team A has control in FC. B1, located in FC, deflects ball into air. A2 steps into BC. He is now IN THE BC, not the FC. He catches ball in air. Yes the ball had FC status and simultaneously gets BC status when he touches it. But A2 was clearly in the BC when he touched the ball. B1 was the last person located in the FC to touch the ball. Let me know if there is a hole in this thought. |
|
|||
Quote:
What is the point you're trying to make? The location of the player and the status of the ball when he touches it are one and the same.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
When A2 touches the ball he is in the BC. The fact that the ball had FC status and simultaneously gained BC status with A2 touch doesn't matter because A2 is unquestionably in the BC when he touches. He cannot be the last to touch in FC because he's physically in the BC.
Last edited by BigCat; Tue Dec 27, 2016 at 12:34am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Would this be a backcourt violation? | bas2456 | Basketball | 5 | Mon Mar 02, 2009 09:28am |
Backcourt Violation? | rwest | Basketball | 6 | Tue Dec 12, 2006 06:41pm |
Backcourt Violation??? | electronics_project | Basketball | 4 | Tue Dec 09, 2003 09:57am |
Backcourt violation? | mrt1963 | Basketball | 7 | Mon Dec 08, 2003 04:53pm |
Backcourt Violation? | Cornellref | Basketball | 4 | Wed Dec 03, 2003 08:26am |