The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 17, 2016, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
10-1-5 (in an old book)
Looks like this is addressed in rule 10-4-5 in the current 2016-2017 rule book, under Player Technicals.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 17, 2016, 02:38pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,374
My Guess, Player Technical ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
10-1-5
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
10-4-5 ... Player Technicals.
So I ask again, is it a player technical, or a team technical?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mo-Money View Post
Following a time-out, if free throw, A1, is not in the free-throw semicircle for the second time, when the administering official is ready ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Assuming that the Resumption of Play procedure has already been used (once) ...
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 17, 2016, 02:46pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,374
Player Technical Foul ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
So I ask again, is it a player technical, or a team technical?
This (below) is not exactly the same, but points to a player technical foul.

8.1.1 SITUATION B: B1 fouls A1 during an unsuccessful try for goal. The calling
official has properly reported the foul and is in position for the free throws.
The administering official has given all instructions and signals. Team B is properly
occupying the required spaces, but three teammates of A1 are huddling
inside the lane. RULING: Team A is warned for delay, the scorer records it and it
is reported to the head coach. If Team A commits any delay thereafter in the
game, a team technical foul shall be charged. COMMENT: Since this situation is
not a throw-in or following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play
procedure shall not be used. If the free thrower is not in the semicircle when the
administering official is ready, a technical foul is charged to the free thrower.
If
the free thrower is in the semicircle, but does not accept the ball, it shall be placed
on the floor and the count started.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 17, 2016, 07:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
This (below) is not exactly the same, but points to a player technical foul.

8.1.1 SITUATION B: B1 fouls A1 during an unsuccessful try for goal. The calling
official has properly reported the foul and is in position for the free throws.
The administering official has given all instructions and signals. Team B is properly
occupying the required spaces, but three teammates of A1 are huddling
inside the lane. RULING: Team A is warned for delay, the scorer records it and it
is reported to the head coach. If Team A commits any delay thereafter in the
game, a team technical foul shall be charged. COMMENT: Since this situation is
not a throw-in or following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play
procedure shall not be used. If the free thrower is not in the semicircle when the
administering official is ready, a technical foul is charged to the free thrower.
If
the free thrower is in the semicircle, but does not accept the ball, it shall be placed
on the floor and the count started.


So what you're saying according to the rule is that it's a technical foul on player A1. But there is no option for that answer on the test just a technical on team A only.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 17, 2016, 11:08pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,374
None Of The Above ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mo-Money View Post
So what you're saying according to the rule is that it's a technical foul on player A1. But there is no option for that answer on the test just a technical on team A only.
Exactly my point.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mo-Money View Post
Is this just a bad question with no correct answer?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 17, 2016, 11:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Exactly my point.
See post #10. It is the resumption of play procedure and it is a team technical. Answer is C. You resume play by placing on floor. Violation. Rule 8. If team that violates continues to delay. Team tech.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 17, 2016, 11:31pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,374
Penalties ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
See post #10. It is the resumption of play procedure and it is a team technical. Answer is C. You resume play by placing on floor. Violation. Rule 8. If team that violates continues to delay. Team tech.
No ROP - Player technical foul.

ROP (second delay) - Team technical foul.

Doesn't seem right?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 18, 2016, 06:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
See post #10. It is the resumption of play procedure and it is a team technical. Answer is C. You resume play by placing on floor. Violation. Rule 8. If team that violates continues to delay. Team tech.
Correct. Sad that Billy doesn't know this after about 40 years of officiating.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 18, 2016, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
See post #10. It is the resumption of play procedure and it is a team technical. Answer is C. You resume play by placing on floor. Violation. Rule 8. If team that violates continues to delay. Team tech.
Team B is assessed a T. Coach A doesn't (after being asked) name a shooter.

Do you asses Coach A with a direct T? Ask the Captain? Assess Captain A with a T? Assess a Team T? Other? Reference?

(I'd vote for option A, but I don't know if there's something specific I'm missing)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 18, 2016, 06:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mo-Money View Post
So what you're saying according to the rule is that it's a technical foul on player A1. But there is no option for that answer on the test just a technical on team A only.
Because he is incorrect.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 17, 2016, 09:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
This (below) is not exactly the same, but points to a player technical foul.

8.1.1 SITUATION B: B1 fouls A1 during an unsuccessful try for goal. The calling
official has properly reported the foul and is in position for the free throws.
The administering official has given all instructions and signals. Team B is properly
occupying the required spaces, but three teammates of A1 are huddling
inside the lane. RULING: Team A is warned for delay, the scorer records it and it
is reported to the head coach. If Team A commits any delay thereafter in the
game, a team technical foul shall be charged. COMMENT: Since this situation is
not a throw-in or following a time-out or intermission, the resumption-of-play
procedure shall not be used. If the free thrower is not in the semicircle when the
administering official is ready, a technical foul is charged to the free thrower.
If
the free thrower is in the semicircle, but does not accept the ball, it shall be placed
on the floor and the count started.
This isn't after the ROP procedure -- which I an guessing the OP was since it was the "second violation" (or some such -- I didn't go back and check the wording).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Part I Test OverAndBack Football 14 Mon Aug 27, 2007 03:14pm
Part 1 Test whistleone Basketball 42 Thu Oct 28, 2004 09:21am
Part 2 Test? just another ref Basketball 7 Wed Oct 20, 2004 09:51pm
Part I test goldcoastump Football 12 Sun Aug 15, 2004 07:04pm
Has everyone taken the Part II test Yet? KEFerrell Football 3 Thu Oct 09, 2003 09:15am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1