The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 21, 2016, 09:29am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Give the ball back to A at the spot nearest the ball when the horn went off (in this play, where A2 had the ball; not necessarily the spot of the original throw-in) with whatever time is left between 2 seconds and however much time elapsed after A2 had the ball and the horn.
How do you determine the amount of time A2 had the ball, though?

This conversation is changing how I officiate the end of close games, to make sure these things don't happen. Because I see huge messes.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 21, 2016, 09:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
How do you determine the amount of time A2 had the ball, though?
Count. You should at least be able to get .5 seconds (nearly) correct. And, there's some case play to the effect that "at least some time has to come off -- perhaps .3 seconds" when the ball is caught and the whstle / horn blows simultaneously.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 21, 2016, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Count. You should at least be able to get .5 seconds (nearly) correct. And, there's some case play to the effect that "at least some time has to come off -- perhaps .3 seconds" when the ball is caught and the whstle / horn blows simultaneously.
I've heard people make the comment that .3 must come off but ive never seen it in a rule or case play. maybe ive missed it. I agree that we should be able to get .5 seconds nearly correct. I guess in this situation, I'm more apt to say i don't have definite knowledge of the time that came off when the ball was caught and put 2 back up. Especially if the timer is team Bs…

The only rule i know that deals with it is that we have to have definite knowledge. i would be interested in seeing the ".3 must always come off" play or interp if anyone knows it etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 21, 2016, 01:50pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
I've heard people make the comment that .3 must come off but ive never seen it in a rule or case play. maybe ive missed it. I agree that we should be able to get .5 seconds nearly correct. I guess in this situation, I'm more apt to say i don't have definite knowledge of the time that came off when the ball was caught and put 2 back up. Especially if the timer is team Bs…

The only rule i know that deals with it is that we have to have definite knowledge. i would be interested in seeing the ".3 must always come off" play or interp if anyone knows it etc.
I don't think that case or interp exists at the NFHS level.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 21, 2016, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
I've heard people make the comment that .3 must come off but ive never seen it in a rule or case play.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I don't think that case or interp exists at the NFHS level.
SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1’s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2’s touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2’s throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 21, 2016, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1’s pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2’s touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2’s throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A “do over” is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)
i think i have seen this before but i don't recall it in the current case book. What year and and rule site of the play if you have it? thx
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 21, 2016, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
i think i have seen this before but i don't recall it in the current case book. What year and and rule site of the play if you have it? thx
It was an interp issued in 2010 or 2011. I think the former. All the interps for the past 20 years or so are on this website.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 21, 2016, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,269
I thinks its implied that any controlled move with the ball, catch n shoot/pass/dribble takes .3 seconds going off the .3 or less no try can be attempted rule.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 21, 2016, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
How do you determine the amount of time A2 had the ball, though?

This conversation is changing how I officiate the end of close games, to make sure these things don't happen. Because I see huge messes.
I try (and I preface this with the word TRY) to have an internal count in instances with less than a minute on the clock and we have an inbounds play or stoppage. It goes off without a hitch 100% of the time I remember to do this. Not so successful when I forget.

My rule of thumb is if the team with the ball appears to have an imminent attempt to score I will not blow the game dead. If say there is 10 seconds on the clock and then inbounds and take a couple dribbles and I notice the clock hasn't started I blow it dead right away.

My hope is I get it quick enough where we don't have to worry about taking time off the clock. This doesn't always happen and usually it would end up being in the 1-3 second time to be removed. That's why it's so important for the off ball official in 2-man to check the clock in these instances because the on ball guy usually will have action right in front of him and it makes it difficult to peel your eyes away.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
End of game situation jritchie Basketball 5 Mon Dec 15, 2014 04:08pm
End of game situation ref83 Basketball 20 Thu Jan 14, 2010 09:39am
End of game situation rfp Basketball 136 Tue Nov 24, 2009 08:56pm
Game Situation radwaste50 Baseball 9 Sun May 08, 2005 10:34pm
End of Game Situation BigGref Basketball 8 Wed Dec 03, 2003 10:41am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1