![]() |
|
|
|||
It's a missed FT. The horn sounded before the ball went OOB (which if the horn doesn't sound or things play out the ball is going to Team B). Team A is up by 1 with .6 seconds. Those are the facts.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Quote:
I see your point, but it's equating the incorrect horn with an inadvertent whistle. There's no coverage for a "false horn" in 4-36-1. This is not, IMHO, a POI situation unless the official chooses to acknowledge the horn with a whistle. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Quote:
If the clock had been properly started, I'd agree with you. But the official knew that the horn should never have sounded because he never chopped in time. So it's not a legitimate horn. I suppose we may have to agree to disagree. This is a great play for discussion, I do admit. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
|
|||
+1. That was what my initial post was supposed to convey.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Quote:
I have had a similar game where the FT was missed and all 10 (well, probably 5 or so) players were going for the ball when the horn went off -- we had to go to the arrow. The HT coach was NOT happy with his timer. |
|
|||
There is no TC while the ball is in flight during a try for a goal (Rule 4-12-3, 4-12-6); a FT is a try for a goal (4-20-1); so there was no TC.
A1 was the last to touch the live ball before it went out of bounds (Rule 7-2-1). Officials may correct obvious timing mistakes when they have definite information of the time involved (Rule 5-10-1). So B's ball for a throw-in, with .6 seconds on the clock. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
When the end of a quarter, half or game is really close...seconds, and the clock is going to be started on an inbounds play or, as here, a FT, it isnt a bad idea to remind the timer to start it "on my signal."
"Watch my arm ...etc". There are timers who i know dont need this reminder but it doesnt hurt to say it. |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by BigCat; Sun Nov 20, 2016 at 05:43pm. |
|
|||
It's unlikely Team A would be able to score again in the time allotted, and would thus lose the game, leaving the HC angry and with questions about the end.
If that HC asks about it, am I just to say "I'm sorry coach, but we have to go by the rules, and the rules say this is how to handle that situation. I understand your anger, but there's nothing I can do."? |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
End of game situation | jritchie | Basketball | 5 | Mon Dec 15, 2014 04:08pm |
End of game situation | ref83 | Basketball | 20 | Thu Jan 14, 2010 09:39am |
End of game situation | rfp | Basketball | 136 | Tue Nov 24, 2009 08:56pm |
Game Situation | radwaste50 | Baseball | 9 | Sun May 08, 2005 10:34pm |
End of Game Situation | BigGref | Basketball | 8 | Wed Dec 03, 2003 10:41am |