The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 05, 2016, 04:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 123
Let's think through this logically (not that NFHS is ever logical).

Assuming that this was indeed the question Shooter14 missed, why would the test editors have included an unannounced change on the test?
__________________
Lurker from Massachusetts. Not an official in any sport.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 05, 2016, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwburke94 View Post
Let's think through this logically (not that NFHS is ever logical).

Assuming that this was indeed the question Shooter14 missed, why would the test editors have included an unannounced change on the test?
You should have asked for the winning power ball numbers for later in the week. probably an easier question to answer...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 05, 2016, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
This all depends upon what the meaning of "is" is.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 05, 2016, 11:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
This all depends upon what the meaning of "is" is.
Are Bill Clinton jokes topical again, or should we wait for November 8?
__________________
Lurker from Massachusetts. Not an official in any sport.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2016, 09:38am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
I just got my test back. Here is the question.

During an alternating-possession throw-in by A1, B2 intentionally kicks the throw-in pass. A1 will be awarded a new throw-in opportunity, but the arrow will remain pointed in the direction of A’s basket.

Answer--False

Explanation
6-4-5;4-42-5
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2016, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by OKREF View Post
I just got my test back. Here is the question.

During an alternating-possession throw-in by A1, B2 intentionally kicks the throw-in pass. A1 will be awarded a new throw-in opportunity, but the arrow will remain pointed in the direction of A’s basket.

Answer--False

Explanation
6-4-5;4-42-5
The test writers need to get with the interp writers:

SITUATION 11: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. After A1 releases the ball, B1 commits a kicking violation. RULING: A1’s throw-in has ended because of B1’s kicking violation. A new throw-in is awarded to Team A at the spot out-of-bounds nearest to where the kicking violation occurred. NOTE: Because the defensive team committed a violation during the alternating-possession throwin, the alternating-possession arrow is not switched.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2016, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 81
Yep!! That is the one I missed then, I marked true.

If that is False, 6-4-5 says otherwise to me.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2016, 11:27am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The test writers need to get with the interp writers:

SITUATION 11: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. After A1 releases the ball, B1 commits a kicking violation. RULING: A1’s throw-in has ended because of B1’s kicking violation. A new throw-in is awarded to Team A at the spot out-of-bounds nearest to where the kicking violation occurred. NOTE: Because the defensive team committed a violation during the alternating-possession throwin, the alternating-possession arrow is not switched.
Look at it like this. According to the new language in 4-42-5-a, "the throw in ends when the ball touches or is touched by another player inbounds". When the thrown ball is kicked(touched), the arrow will change to B. Because that touching(the kicking), is a violation Team A gets a throw in for that violation, however since the word legally has been removed, the arrow should be switched at the time of the touching(the kick) by B. So the arrow will stay with B. The above situation actually says that, it just doesn't say who has the arrow.

Last edited by OKREF; Mon Oct 17, 2016 at 11:33am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2016, 02:50pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shooter14 View Post
So does the interp say to not switch it?
Yep

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The test writers need to get with the interp writers:

SITUATION 11: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. After A1 releases the ball, B1 commits a kicking violation. RULING: A1’s throw-in has ended because of B1’s kicking violation. A new throw-in is awarded to Team A at the spot out-of-bounds nearest to where the kicking violation occurred. NOTE: Because the defensive team committed a violation during the alternating-possession throwin, the alternating-possession arrow is not switched.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Revised Brain Teaser MD Longhorn Football 15 Fri Aug 13, 2010 10:42pm
Revised: First, Osborne; Second, Christensen Carl Childress Baseball 14 Tue Oct 18, 2005 11:42am
NFHS OBS Revised Rule whiskers_ump Softball 4 Tue Dec 14, 2004 11:26pm
revised question on penalty during touchdown timharris Football 8 Fri Aug 13, 2004 09:59am
Revised 2nd situation, check swing 4th out. BJ Moose Baseball 13 Fri Jan 19, 2001 11:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1