The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 20, 2016, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
It was expressed in another forum that the lack of the word "legally" in this rule does not really matter because of what rule 6-4-2 says. ... that nothing really changes even though the word legally has been deleted. Agree?
Take a look at the caseplay:

4.42.5 SITUATION:
Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. A1's throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2.
RULING: As a result of B2's kicking violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to where the kicking violation (illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating-possession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-possession throw-in.
COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered. When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A. (6-4-5)
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 20, 2016, 04:35pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
That's My Point

Quote:
Originally Posted by PG_Ref View Post
Take a look at the caseplay:

4.42.5 SITUATION:
Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. A1's throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2.
RULING: As a result of B2's kicking violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to where the kicking violation (illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating-possession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-possession throw-in.
COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered. When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A. (6-4-5)
If the removal of the word "legally" in rule 4-42-5a, then the casebook play you cite is now incorrect: "Since the alternating-possession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended..." The COMMENT there seems correct, but not the wording of the RULING.

I do agree that whether the word "legally" appears in 4-42-5a or not, the wording of rule 6-4-2 means that it really doesn't make any difference--illegal contact by the defense won't mean the throwing team loses the AP arrow and illegal contact by the throwing team means they will. Right?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 20, 2016, 07:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
HUH?? The word legally makes all the difference.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 20, 2016, 08:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
If the removal of the word "legally" in rule 4-42-5a, then the casebook play you cite is now incorrect: "Since the alternating-possession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended..." The COMMENT there seems correct, but not the wording of the RULING.

I do agree that whether the word "legally" appears in 4-42-5a or not, the wording of rule 6-4-2 means that it really doesn't make any difference--illegal contact by the defense won't mean the throwing team loses the AP arrow and illegal contact by the throwing team means they will. Right?
Correct. If the throwin team violates the arrow is changed. If the defense violates the arrow stays and the next throwin is for the defensive violation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 28, 2016, 07:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 81
I just took the test and switched my answer last second and missed it. I marked that the arrow stays the same direction and missed it. According to the rule book THIS YEAR the throw-in ends when it is just "TOUCHED", therefore in my opinion a kicking violation is a "touch" and the arrow will switch. A still gets a new throw-in but B will have the next one.

I initially answered it that way, but changed it last second and according to NFHS, I missed it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Revised Brain Teaser MD Longhorn Football 15 Fri Aug 13, 2010 10:42pm
Revised: First, Osborne; Second, Christensen Carl Childress Baseball 14 Tue Oct 18, 2005 11:42am
NFHS OBS Revised Rule whiskers_ump Softball 4 Tue Dec 14, 2004 11:26pm
revised question on penalty during touchdown timharris Football 8 Fri Aug 13, 2004 09:59am
Revised 2nd situation, check swing 4th out. BJ Moose Baseball 13 Fri Jan 19, 2001 11:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1