![]() |
|
|
|||
I get that and am on board with that. But what about the 10-second count? When does that technically start? A1 inbounding after a made shot. The pass is deflected by B1 (shot clock starts), ball bounces across court for 2 seconds when it is finally picked up by A2? Does the 10-second count start when the pass was deflected by B1 or when it was picked up by A2?
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Please don't take this as being argumentative or difficult. I trust you guys know what you are talking about, but I'm struggling with how the rule is written. The issue for me is that the NCAA rules define when the 10-second count begins, whereas the NFHS rules simply require team control of a ball in the backcourt and doesn't dictate when the count begins.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush |
|
|||
Quote:
B. When it is deflected by B. That is first touch in A's BC. |
|
|||
So in A the 10-second count shouldn't start until A touches the ball in the backcourt in NCAA, but in NFHS it should start once the ball touches the backcourt (team "control of the ball which is in his/her backcourt")?
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush |
|
|||
NCAA. When A touches it 10 count begins under your example. In NfHS the ten count would start when A2 retrieved the ball. That is when TC established in BC. There are other threads on this.
|
|
|||
Fed is 10 second starts once the ball has BC status if there is still team control. Most guys do not start the count then, however.
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
This was kind of made clear earlier in this thread. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
My point is that the 10-second count and shot clock don't always start at the same time. The crux of my confusion is whether or not the 10-second count starts against team A when the ball is touched by any player (A or B) in A's backcourt. Is the simple touching of the ball by A or B in A's backcourt when A has team control sufficient to start the count. If A has established frontcourt status with the ball, does a pass deflected by B into the backcourt that is subsequently touched (not possessed) by B cause the 10-second count to start or does A have to touch it in the backcourt? If you say A has to touch it before starting a 10-second count, then how can it be that the 10-second count starts when B deflects a pass from A while inbounding following a made basket?
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush |
|
|||
Quote:
1. A throw in from A's backcourt is tipped by B1 in A's BC. The shot clock and the -10 second count for A starts on Bs touch. A player legally touched the ball in A's BC. When the clock hits 20-violation. Even if seconds went by before A actually touched ball. Do you have that down? |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Quote:
We can either count with our arm like we always did or note the time on the clock when the violation would take place. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Correct Application | mikaryan | Basketball | 21 | Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:10pm |
application of ASA 10.3.C (detailed play) | okla21fan | Softball | 28 | Fri May 20, 2011 11:25pm |
Proper application of OBS? | U of M Sam | Softball | 1 | Sun Jul 10, 2005 12:03pm |
Application of 9.01(c) | akalsey | Baseball | 20 | Tue Jun 15, 2004 12:49pm |