![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I believe the question Boomer wants to ask is what do we do on a throw-in that's touched by the defense first in the frontcourt and then bounds into the back court. Would the 10-second count start when the ball hits the backboard or when Team A touches or possesses the ball in the backcourt.
Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Where I'm still not 100% certain is when the 10-second count starts if A has advanced the ball into the frontcourt and the ball is then then deflected by B into the backcourt and is touched by B (or an official if it makes any difference) in the backcourt.
__________________
My job is a decision-making job, and as a result, I make a lot of decisions." --George W. Bush Last edited by BoomerSooner; Tue Mar 22, 2016 at 04:34pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I think a count is ONLY allowed under 30-seconds (true in NCAAW,; not sure in NCAAM) Here's a relevant NCAAM case play (with a typo corrected) (the same ruling applies in NCAAW): A.R. 206. Team A has the ball for a throw-in under its own basket with 15 seconds on the shot clock. The ball is passed inbounds (1) into Team A’s frontcourt where it is touched by a Team B player and then continues into Team A’s backcourt where it is touched by a Team A player with 12 seconds remaining on the shot clock, or (2) into Team A’s backcourt where it is first touched by any player in the backcourt. RULING 1: The shot clock starts on the initial touch by the Team B player, but the backcourt count does not start until the Team A player touches the ball in the backcourt with 12 seconds on the shot clock. There will be a 10 second backcourt violation with 2 seconds remaining on the shot clock if the ball fails to gain frontcourt status in Team A’s continuous control. 2: When any player touches the ball on a throw-in, the shot clock shall start. When the first touch occurs in Team A’s backcourt, the 10 second backcourt count shall also begin. There will be a 10 second backcourt violation with 5 seconds remaining on the shot clock when the ball fails to gain frontcourt status in Team A’s continuous control. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Correct Application | mikaryan | Basketball | 21 | Thu Jan 15, 2015 10:10pm |
| application of ASA 10.3.C (detailed play) | okla21fan | Softball | 28 | Fri May 20, 2011 11:25pm |
| Proper application of OBS? | U of M Sam | Softball | 1 | Sun Jul 10, 2005 12:03pm |
| Application of 9.01(c) | akalsey | Baseball | 20 | Tue Jun 15, 2004 12:49pm |