![]() |
|
|||
For me? Mayyyyyyyyyyyyybe. However, the OP said the excitement was over the made basket.
|
|
|||
The OP as written, I'd be most likely to play on and not issue a T. No press, so the coach did not disrupt play. He had a brain fart and wasn't being argumentative. If the other coach said anything I'd tell him I would have done the same thing for him. I do not think this situation, as written, is T-worthy.
|
|
|||
I tend to agree with Adam. If this is clearly a miscommunication by the coach, I'm going to try to avoid a T (unless, of course, he does interfere with the play). I would also look at the spirit of the rule. I know this isn't a directly applicable analogy, but I liken it to the kid who takes the ball out of bounds after his team scores, but is clearly confused on the play. I'm not giving one there unless I have to, and I'm not giving one here unless I have to.
|
|
|||
Quote:
I don't think this scenario is very similar, and I realize you said that right off the bat, but the kid was deliberately doing something wrong in yours, and absolutely needed to get a T (And depending on how hard he threw the ball, he might even be leaving the game for good) whereas in the OP, it was clearly a mistake out of confusion. |
|
|||
Quote:
Exactly! To the opposing coach: if I even thought this was intentional I would have whacked him. We got a great game going - let's get back to basketball. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk |
|
|||
Quote:
There's no inadvertent whistle. No one said TO. No player thinks there is a TO. There's zero confusion for me to give this coach any room to leave the coaching box. |
|
|||
Quote:
In the OP, I do not know many coaches just entering the court until they are supposed to like an official actually grants a timeout. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
The coach shall remain seated on the team bench, except: The coach gets to stay in his box. If he leaves the box it's a technical. Almost all coaches follow this rule so why are we giving the misbehaving ones a pass? |
|
|||
Quote:
As written, he brainfarted, and I'm not punishing him unless he interfered with the play somehow.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!! |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Literal and intent go hand in hand here, imo, when they made the rule for coaches staying in the box. Well, at least very similar.
|
|
||||
Quote:
If the other coach asks, I'll give him the "I'd do the same for you" and add that if he had interfered with play, I would have called it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
Immediately following a goal or free throw by Team A, A1 inbounds the ball to A2 and A2 subsequently throws the ball through A's basket. RULING: The following procedure has been adopted to handle this specific situations if it is recognized before the opponents gain control or before the next throw-in begins: A) Tech B) delay of game warning c/d/e) blah blah blah. Comment: If there is no doubt the throw-in was a result of confusion, the entire procedure would be follow except the tech. If it's the second delay-of-game there is a tech. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Balk Question and Base Abandonment Question | easygoer | Baseball | 7 | Fri May 23, 2014 11:11am |
A question on a play and a mechanics question. | aevans410 | Baseball | 11 | Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am |
two questions - start of half question and free throw question | hoopguy | Basketball | 6 | Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm |
Rule Question and Mechanics Question | Stair-Climber | Softball | 15 | Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am |
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question | CoaachJF | Basketball | 15 | Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm |