![]() |
|
|
|||
double foul during shot
From game last night (as parent):
Double foul called (seemed to me like a poor choice to call a double foul, but that's beside the point) about the same time a shot is taken. I believe that the referee ruled the foul occurred before the shot was taken, and the team shooting kept the ball (I don't think the PA was flipped). (The coach was arguing the ball was in flight when the whistle blew, which is obviously not the test . . . this ref often had a slow whistle, sometimes very slow.) If the double foul had occurred while the ball was in flight, does the basket count? If not, does it go to AP since no team control? |
|
|||
Quote:
And if the double foul occurred before the try was released, the POI is quite obvious.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Correct on both counts. And, if it happens after the motion has started, then it's the same answer (at least by interp, here. We've had discussions on this in the past -- one rule says allow continuous motion if there's a foul by the defense; another says no CM if there's a foul by the offense; no rule specifically says what to do if both of the above are true.) |
|
|||
Quote:
If the double foul happens when the ball is in the air and the shot does NOT go in, the resumption of play goes to the arrow.
__________________
If it's a foul on that end, IT'S GOTTA BE A FOUL ON THIS END!!!!! |
|
|||
Double fouls go to the POI. An AP throw in MAY be the POI.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Absolutely. The thing with the OP to remember is that there can be 3 DIFFERENT outcomes.
1) DF while shooter STILL has the ball 2) DF while ball is in the air and shot is made 3) DF while ball is in the air and shot is missed
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Assuming by "shooter" you mean that the try has started, then there is no "separate" outcome for this -- it's going to fall into one of the other two categories.
|
|
|||
Had this (once on a free throw!). Team A's basket counted, Team B's ball on the end line. Had it missed, we go to the arrow.
__________________
Confidence is a vehicle, not a destination. |
|
|||
I disagree. What about a blarge? In that case, if the shot goes, the bucket counts. The charge isn't a player control foul and the block isn't a defensive foul. It becomes a double foul and the ball remains live, then ROP is POI.
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Double Foul & Shot Clock | The_Rookie | Basketball | 1 | Fri Feb 13, 2015 11:56am |
Get it right? Double foul while shot in the air. | NoFussRef | Basketball | 67 | Wed Feb 09, 2011 04:36pm |
Double foul and shot clock horn | Scrapper1 | Basketball | 12 | Wed Nov 05, 2008 09:18am |
Double foul shot clock issue | CA BBall Ref | Basketball | 1 | Sun Jan 22, 2006 09:17am |
double foul - MA shot clock ? | mdray | Basketball | 1 | Fri Nov 18, 2005 11:06am |