The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2015, 02:50am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Blocking foul?

This one seemed like the most obviously wrong test question of the bunch to me. Am I reading the question wrong?

B1 has established legal guarding position on dribbler A1. A1 moves laterally to go around B1, and catches the hip of B1, who is moving forward towards A1 to retain their position. The contact causes A1 to stumble and lose the ball. Officials call a blocking foul on B1.

true or false
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2015, 07:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
This one seemed like the most obviously wrong test question of the bunch to me. Am I reading the question wrong?

B1 has established legal guarding position on dribbler A1. A1 moves laterally to go around B1, and catches the hip of B1, who is moving forward towards A1 to retain their position. The contact causes A1 to stumble and lose the ball. Officials call a blocking foul on B1.

true or false
Technically not a true or false questions, but a correct or incorrect question. Anyways, B1 moves towards A1 and makes contact with B1's hip. That's a blocking foul as B1 may not move towards A1 while maintaining LGP and the contact was also not in B1's torso.

So the officials are correct which I guess translates to true.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2015, 04:30pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Silly Test Writer Monkeys ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
Technically not a true or false questions, but a correct or incorrect question.
Thank you. I didn't have time to post that this morning.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2015, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
This one seemed like the most obviously wrong test question of the bunch to me. Am I reading the question wrong?

B1 has established legal guarding position on dribbler A1. A1 moves laterally to go around B1, and catches the hip of B1, who is moving forward towards A1 to retain their position. The contact causes A1 to stumble and lose the ball. Officials call a blocking foul on B1.

true or false

Those two parts seem contradictory
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2015, 11:19am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
This one seemed like the most obviously wrong test question of the bunch to me. Am I reading the question wrong?

B1 has established legal guarding position on dribbler A1. A1 moves laterally to go around B1, and catches the hip of B1, who is moving forward towards A1 to retain their position. The contact causes A1 to stumble and lose the ball. Officials call a blocking foul on B1.

true or false
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post

Those two parts seem contradictory
That's why this is a true statement.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2015, 11:23am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Should be a block the way I read it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2015, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Agree with Big Cat, moving forward, B1 loses his LGP.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2015, 11:37am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
I'm not trusting the source of a test if they are including phrases like "who is moving forward towards A1 to retain their position".
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2015, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post

Those two parts seem contradictory
Moving forward does maintain LGP unless there is contact while they are moving forward. Presumably, the player was moving forward before contact, so, they actions "were" legal until contact occurred.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2015, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
This one seemed like the most obviously wrong test question of the bunch to me. Am I reading the question wrong?

B1 has established legal guarding position on dribbler A1. A1 moves laterally to go around B1, and catches the hip of B1, who is moving forward towards A1 to retain their position. The contact causes A1 to stumble and lose the ball. Officials call a blocking foul on B1.

true or false
B1 "is moving forward to retain their position." He cannot "retain" or maintain (that is the word used in the rules) LGP by moving forward when the contact occurs. Laterally or obliquely…and he is ok. Officials correct to call blocking foul. True.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 11, 2015, 10:19am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
This one seemed like the most obviously wrong test question of the bunch to me. Am I reading the question wrong?

B1 has established legal guarding position on dribbler A1. A1 moves laterally to go around B1, and catches the hip of B1, who is moving forward towards A1 to retain their position. The contact causes A1 to stumble and lose the ball. Officials call a blocking foul on B1.

true or false
Where are you getting these questions from?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blocking Foul Questions SubPlayer Basketball 17 Mon Nov 02, 2015 05:19pm
Iona/Manhattan: Blocking foul JetMetFan Basketball 11 Sun Feb 17, 2013 12:48pm
Procedure after Blocking Foul and then Double Technical MajorCord Basketball 15 Tue Feb 13, 2007 12:31pm
Player control/Blocking foul? GoodKolbeMan Basketball 34 Sat Oct 07, 2006 05:44pm
Backwards blocking foul Jimgolf Basketball 6 Fri Dec 17, 2004 02:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1