![]() |
|
|
|||
So.....the ball touching an official inbounds is same as touching the floor at that spot.......but touching a person who is out of bounds is not the same as touching the floor on that spot?
Silly to me, some of these rules are. I wish I had a cool signature |
|
|||
Quote:
Or, if B was on the boundary line and touched A who was touching the ball ... However, note that if A is OOB for a throw-in and reaches over the boundary line and contact B, it's a violation on A (per interp) Last edited by bob jenkins; Tue Dec 01, 2015 at 11:29am. |
|
|||
Quote:
There isn't actually a rule which states that touching an OOB person is a violation. We would have no concrete rule basis for making such a call. We would have to fall back on 2-3 and the phrase at the beginning of the book about not permitting any player to gain an advantage not intended by the rules. Plus, if one does make a call in this situation, then there is the issue of what penalty to enforce. Is it a violation? Is it an unsporting technical foul? That was an awful interpretation. There is no justification for it. I recall that the NFHS actually stated that the thrower gained inbounds status by touching the defender, which is completely untrue. |
|
|||
Quote:
The ball touching an official is inbounds if the official is entirely inbounds, or out of bounds if any part of the official is touching on or outside a boundary. This much is true. But the ball handler, and thus the ball, is not out of bounds if said ball handler touches an official (or any other person) who is located on or outside a boundary. |
|
|||
Is That You Yoda ???
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Inbound pass hits referee OOB
Let me be clear about these things. Unless otherwise stated, I understand the rule. But as I have stated before, understanding and adjudicating it correctly do not preclude being discerning about a rule. To me, it sometimes seems there is a double talk taking place in basketball rules that I don't see in softball.
As in, touching the bleachers while inbounds with the ball makes you OOB but touching a cheerleader/official/cameraman does not? Seems contradictory to me. I wish I had a cool signature |
|
|||
Bark Is Worse Than His Bite ...
Player touching the police officer in the corner isn't out of bounds, but touching his K-9 police dog would be out of bounds.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Illegal Inbound Pass? | Thegr8zebra | Basketball | 13 | Tue Feb 17, 2015 09:27am |
inbound pass hits backboard | rsl | Basketball | 13 | Mon May 03, 2010 07:50am |
Inbound Pass Goes in Basket | rgncjn | Basketball | 6 | Mon Nov 05, 2007 09:55pm |
Time-out on inbound pass? | hooper | Basketball | 5 | Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:33pm |
Inbound pass | kltuck | Basketball | 34 | Mon Nov 08, 2004 02:35pm |