The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 05, 2006, 03:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 74
Question about when a time-out will be granted.

In the league where I coach, the refs do not seem to have a consistent rule about how to handle this, so I was wondering what the official rule is:

Will time-out be granted during the following:

1. Ball is taken out of bounds after a foul or violation. Can defensive team call a time-out before ball is given to inbounder?

2. After a made basket when referee asks for ball. Ball is in possession of ref, can defense call time-out? (I know the ref does not need to touch the ball after a made basket, but this one happens a lot.)

3. Ball is taken out of bounds after being knocked out. Can defensive team call time-out?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 05, 2006, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 778
1. Yes, up until the ball is given to the inbounder.

2. They can call a timeout until the ball is at the disposal of the thrower-inner, if the ref has it then yes, I would grant the timeout.

3> Yes, until the ball is handed to the thrower.
__________________
Church Basketball "The brawl that begins with a prayer"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 05, 2006, 03:48pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,942
Quote:
Originally posted by hooper
1. Ball is taken out of bounds after a foul or violation. Can defensive team call a time-out before ball is given to inbounder?
Yes

Quote:
Originally posted by hooper
2. After a made basket when referee asks for ball. Ball is in possession of ref, can defense call time-out? (I know the ref does not need to touch the ball after a made basket, but this one happens a lot.)
I do not know what you mean by "referee asks for the ball." If no one has the ball after a made basket anyone can call a timeout.

Quote:
Originally posted by hooper
3. Ball is taken out of bounds after being knocked out. Can defensive team call time-out?
If the ball is not at the disposal of the thrower, anyone can call a timeout. Once the ball is at the disposal of the thrower, only the team with the ball can call a timeout.

Why is this hard to understand? Could you give some background?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 05, 2006, 04:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 74
Not hard to understand at all. It's just that I've had some refs who won't allow time-outs under these circumstances.

One "explanation" was that "Your team has to have possession of the ball to call time-out," which of course is true unless no one has possession, in which case a time-out should be allowed.

Anyone have rule citations for these?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 05, 2006, 07:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,834
Quote:
Originally posted by hooper
Anyone have rule citations for these?
NFHS
5-8-3 . . . Grants a player's/head coach's oral or visual request for a time-out, such request being granted only when:

a. The ball is in control or at the disposal of a player of his/her team.
b. The ball is dead, unless replacement of a disqualified, or injured player(s), or a player directed to leave the game is pending, and a substitute(s) is available and required.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 06, 2006, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge

Quote:
Originally posted by hooper
2. After a made basket when referee asks for ball. Ball is in possession of ref, can defense call time-out? (I know the ref does not need to touch the ball after a made basket, but this one happens a lot.)
I do not know what you mean by "referee asks for the ball." If no one has the ball after a made basket anyone can call a timeout.
hooper -- The way you word this sitch is confusing, since normally the ref doesn't need to handle the ball after a made basket. The shooting team can have their request for a time out granted up until the ball is "at the disposal" of the now in-bounding team. At the disposal means that they could physically get the ball and set up for the throw-in even if they aren't actually doing that. Most refs will grant the time out before the ball is in the hands of the now-in-bounding team, unless it's clear that they are deliberately stalling.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1