The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 25, 2015, 11:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
2-ball location (I think) -- a bal hitting an official is the bsame as the ball hitting the court where the official is standing.

No different from a bounce pass hitting out of bounds -- violation.

Now, I've never seen this (ball hitting the official), so I might wonder about the official's mechanics.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 25, 2015, 11:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
2-ball location (I think) -- a bal hitting an official is the bsame as the ball hitting the court where the official is standing.

No different from a bounce pass hitting out of bounds -- violation.

Now, I've never seen this (ball hitting the official), so I might wonder about the official's mechanics.
Agree. If it it the official's hand, the pass was either not even going towards the court or the official was far to close to the boundary line. The administering official should be BEHIND the level of the thrower looking across the thrower and out towards the court. No way the ball should ever come near the officials hand if so.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 27, 2015, 09:24am
Aztec-Irishman
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
2-ball location (I think) -- a bal hitting an official is the bsame as the ball hitting the court where the official is standing.

No different from a bounce pass hitting out of bounds -- violation.

Now, I've never seen this (ball hitting the official), so I might wonder about the official's mechanics.
Official's mechanic I would use is the following:

Stop the clock; open hand (whistle)
Then point to the floor out of bounds then point to floor in bounds and back. Similar to "back court" violation.
Then Team direction and then spot throw in.
__________________
Tomorrow is promised to no one. Stay thirsty my friend!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 27, 2015, 09:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gutierrez7 View Post
Official's mechanic I would use is the following:

Stop the clock; open hand (whistle)
Then point to the floor out of bounds then point to floor in bounds and back. Similar to "back court" violation.
Then Team direction and then spot throw in.
I mean the mechanics that caused the official to be hit in the first place, not the mechanics of making the call once it happened.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 27, 2015, 11:30am
Dad Dad is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 849
You can use the most awkward mechanics ever, still doesn't change that you are part of the court while you're on it.

If you're standing out of bounds it's out.

If you're inbound the ball is live and the thrower can't touch it until another player does.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 30, 2015, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post

If you're inbound the ball is live and the thrower can't touch it until another player does.

Question here: Assume you are talking about a throw in hitting an official on court (inbounds), but what ref is not going to be oob when a throw in is occurring? Hijacking here a bit, but if a live ball that is passed hits a ref inbounds, we know the ball is still live, but could that same player (passer) be the first to touch?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 30, 2015, 08:23am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dad View Post
...
If you're inbound the ball is live and the thrower can't touch it until another player does.
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Question here: Assume you are talking about a throw in hitting an official on court (inbounds), but what ref is not going to be oob when a throw in is occurring? Hijacking here a bit, but if a live ball that is passed hits a ref inbounds, we know the ball is still live, but could that same player (passer) be the first to touch?
Huh? You just quoted a person who said the thrower can't be the first to touch. What have you changed in the scenario that would make the answer different?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 30, 2015, 08:34am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Question here: Assume you are talking about a throw in hitting an official on court (inbounds), but what ref is not going to be oob when a throw in is occurring? Hijacking here a bit, but if a live ball that is passed hits a ref inbounds, we know the ball is still live, but could that same player (passer) be the first to touch?
If I bounce on a sideline, I'm likely on the floor inbounds.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 30, 2015, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
If I bounce on a sideline, I'm likely on the floor inbounds.
Why? That closes off angles you have to cover action out on the court and opens up your view of the area behind the thrower???
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 30, 2015, 08:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by letemplay View Post
Question here: Assume you are talking about a throw in hitting an official on court (inbounds), but what ref is not going to be oob when a throw in is occurring? Hijacking here a bit, but if a live ball that is passed hits a ref inbounds, we know the ball is still live, but could that same player (passer) be the first to touch?
The ball could hit a referee other than the administering referee.

The OP was a "live ball" being passed. I assume you mean a pass from a player inbounds, not a ball being inbounded. In that case, treat the ball hitting the official and being touched by the passer as a dribble. Whether it's legal or not will depend on what happened before the dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 30, 2015, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 520
Sorry, yes I meant a ball already in play inbounds. If A1 ends his dribble and in an attempt to pass to A2, the ball hits a ref standing inbounds, can A1 then be the first to touch or retrieve the ball as it caroms off ref? Would we treat it as a fumble?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal Inbound Pass? Thegr8zebra Basketball 13 Tue Feb 17, 2015 09:27am
inbound pass hits backboard rsl Basketball 13 Mon May 03, 2010 07:50am
Inbound Pass Goes in Basket rgncjn Basketball 6 Mon Nov 05, 2007 09:55pm
Time-out on inbound pass? hooper Basketball 5 Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:33pm
Inbound pass kltuck Basketball 34 Mon Nov 08, 2004 02:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1