![]() |
|
|
|||
post play
Post play............A5 (on offense and playing in the post area), does not have the ball, and B5 (defending him), has a elbow on him (not extended). So far nothing. Ball gets thrown in to A5, B5 keeps his elbow on him (but not extended). Do we have a foul if B5 keeps his (unextended) elbow on A5?
Thanks in advance |
|
|||
If you mean that he happens to be touching him with the elbow or arm bar, then I would agree that is not likely a foul. But if it is being used in any way to either contact the post player, then I likely have a foul. It is really hard to say without actually seeing the action. I will give benefit of the doubt to a player that just has their arm in front of their body in a more natural movement, but when they extend at all, I have a foul.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
They actually made an editorial change this year to say they are all treated the same.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Our assn has made it clear that an arm bar extended is a foul. Arm bar next to body might be a foul here if they are trying to influence RSBQ, but it's more likely just poor defense
I wish I had a cool signature |
|
|||
Has to be an extended arm bar for an automatic foul. Wording was changed to make sure we apply post play to the rule.
10-6 ART. 12 The following acts constitute a foul when committed against a ball handler/dribbler. A player becomes a ball handler when he/she receives the ball. This would include a player in a post position b. Placing an extended arm bar on the player. |
|
|||
Quote:
To me, if the elbow is away from the body with the forearm on the opponent, it is extended....and becomes a foul if the opponent has the ball.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Agreed -- but I think we also need to emphasize "placing" as an intentional act (as opposed to merely "having" or "protecting")
|
|
|||
Quote:
If they have it up and the opponent moves into to, I give them a moment to retract it but they can't keep it there any more than they can stick an arm out to the side to restrict movement.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Post Play | The_Rookie | Basketball | 3 | Wed Feb 06, 2013 05:09pm |
Off. Post Play | Coltdoggs | Basketball | 17 | Fri Dec 05, 2008 08:57pm |
Post Play | MidMadness | Basketball | 121 | Sat Oct 21, 2006 04:54pm |
Post Play | Ref-X | Basketball | 25 | Thu Jan 26, 2006 04:59pm |
Post Play | force39 | Basketball | 6 | Sat Feb 22, 2003 11:14pm |