The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2015, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 559
In-bound pass that goes into the basket

Time is running out in the 4th quarter and Team B has just tied up the score at 99 a piece. A4 throws a hail mary and A5 tries to catch it on his own free throw line and it deflects straight up and comes down in Teams A basket. Does it count? Any rule reference would be appreciated.

When A5 tries to catch it and simply touches the ball there is 5 seconds left and when it goes through there is still 2 seconds left. Is this a legal goal/attempt?

I will look up 4-42-5. SC Official.
__________________
BigT "The rookie"

Last edited by BigT; Wed Nov 18, 2015 at 01:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2015, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,887
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
Time is running out in the 4th quarter and Team B has just tied up the score at 99 a piece. A4 throws a hail mary and A5 tries to catch it on his own free throw line and it deflects straight up and comes down in Teams A basket. Does it count? Any rule reference would be appreciated.
The title of this thread is erroneous. When does the throw-in end? See 4-42-5.

And more information is needed to answer your question. When did time expire? It sounds like A5's deflection was not a try or tap for goal, meaning that it would not count if time expired before it passed through the net.

Last edited by SC Official; Wed Nov 18, 2015 at 12:59pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2015, 01:10pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
Time is running out in the 4th quarter and Team B has just tied up the score at 99 a piece. A4 throws a hail mary and A5 tries to catch it on his own free throw line and it deflects straight up and comes down in Teams A basket. Does it count? Any rule reference would be appreciated.

When A5 tries to catch it and simply touches the ball there is 5 seconds left and when it goes through there is still 2 seconds left. Is this a legal goal/attempt?

I will look up 4-42-5. SC Official.


Score two points for Team A because a Live Ball went through its Basket before Time expired.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2015, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
Time is running out in the 4th quarter and Team B has just tied up the score at 99 a piece. A4 throws a hail mary and A5 tries to catch it on his own free throw line and it deflects straight up and comes down in Teams A basket. Does it count? Any rule reference would be appreciated.

When A5 tries to catch it and simply touches the ball there is 5 seconds left and when it goes through there is still 2 seconds left. Is this a legal goal/attempt?

I will look up 4-42-5. SC Official.
Yes.

No.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2015, 01:47pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes.

No.

Bob:

Thanks for giving a more accurate answer and concise answer.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2015, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 559
Basically as long as an inbound pass is know by the officials to have been touched it then can enter the basket and count. As long as it doesnt involve something like basket interference.

I want to thank those who posted.
__________________
BigT "The rookie"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2015, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,887
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
Basically as long as an inbound pass is know by the officials to have been touched it then can enter the basket and count. As long as it doesnt involve something like basket interference.

I want to thank those who posted.
Yes. Once the throw-in pass is touched inbounds, the throw-in is over.

Also, make sure you understand the difference between a try/tap and any live ball entering the basket. It matters with respect to the expiration of time.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2015, 02:51pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,926
And please use "throw-in" instead of "inbounds pass".
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2015, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
Basically as long as an inbound pass is know by the officials to have been LEGALLY touched it then can enter the basket and count. As long as it doesnt involve something like basket interference.
Big T, generally yes, but note the correction above.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 21, 2015, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Case Book 5.2.1 SITUATION D (2013-14) has the wording mentioned by the most recent posts.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 21, 2015, 12:29pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,671
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
Case Book 5.2.1 SITUATION D (2013-14) has the wording mentioned by the most recent posts.
5.2.1 SITUATION D: Following the free throws for a technical foul, A1 makes a
throw-in from out of bounds at the division line opposite the table. The throw-in
pass is deflected at As free-throw line by: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and it then goes directly
through As basket. RULING: Score two points for Team A in both (a) and (b).
The throw-in ended when the ball was touched by an inbounds player and the live
ball subsequently passed through the basket. The fact it was not a tap or a try for
goal does not affect the scoring of two points. (4-41-4)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 21, 2015, 12:31pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigT View Post
When A5 tries to catch it and simply touches the ball there is 5 seconds left and when it goes through there is still 2 seconds left. Is this a legal goal/attempt?
If the touch was not a try or tap, then the basket would not count if time expired before the ball goes into the basket. Since the ball went into the basket before time expired, it does not matter how the ball got into the basket as long as an action was not illegal that caused it like a BI.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael Mick Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 21, 2015, 12:43pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,671
Add Another Layer To The Cake ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
If the touch was not a try or tap, then the basket would not count if time expired before the ball goes into the basket. Since the ball went into the basket before time expired, it does not matter how the ball got into the basket as long as an action was not illegal that caused it like a BI.
Also, since it was not a try, a goaltending violation could not have been called.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 05:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
5.2.1 SITUATION D: Following the free throws for a technical foul, A1 makes a
throw-in from out of bounds at the division line opposite the table. The throw-in
pass is deflected at As free-throw line by: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and it then goes directly
through As basket. RULING: Score two points for Team A in both (a) and (b).
The throw-in ended when the ball was touched by an inbounds player and the live
ball subsequently passed through the basket. The fact it was not a tap or a try for
goal does not affect the scoring of two points. (4-41-4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Also, since it was not a try, a goaltending violation could not have been called.
Ok, Smarty, if an official did mistakenly whistle for a goaltending violation under the circumstances set forth in the Case Book play, please inform us of how the game would be resumed and why.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 09:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,611
In-bound pass that goes into the basket

Good question. Inadvertent whistle, but is there team control? I vote yes because of the rule change a few years ago, so give the ball to Team A at the OOB spot closest to where the ball was when the IW occurred.

This is not the same debate as the one we frequently have in regards to the backcourt rule, where TC *inbounds* is required.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by crosscountry55; Sun Nov 22, 2015 at 09:28am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pass hitting player and going through basket Dave9819 Basketball 30 Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:26am
Horn goes off on an inbound pass under basket mitchstripes Basketball 2 Mon Dec 20, 2010 02:50pm
Inbound Pass Goes in Basket rgncjn Basketball 6 Mon Nov 05, 2007 09:55pm
In bound Location dsnyder Basketball 5 Tue Dec 07, 2004 04:18am
Pass deflected into basket. Jeff the Ref Basketball 15 Tue Nov 11, 2003 01:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1