The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Inadvertent whistle. The throwin ended when the passed ball touched, or was legally touched, by another player inbounds. No team control (no team foul involved). Go to the arrow.

When does TC start? When does TC end? Does the throw-in ending have anything to do with TC?

(or, am I asking these questions to lead you down the proverbial garden path?)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 11:58am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
When does TC start? When does TC end? Does the throw-in ending have anything to do with TC?

(or, am I asking these questions to lead you down the proverbial garden path?)

I was trying to lead him down the primrose path myself.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 12:05pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
C'mon bob jenkins, Please Just Give Me The Answer ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
When does TC start? When does TC end? Does the throw-in ending have anything to do with TC?
1) When the ball is at disposal of the inbounding player for a throw-in.

2) When the throwin ends (when the passed ball touched, or was legally touched, by another player inbounds).

3) Yes. Team control ended when the throwin ended, when the throwin pass was deflected, by a player in bounds, at A’s free-throw line.

Point: Team control on a throwin is only for the purposes of a team control foul during a throwin. There was no foul in the casebook play, so team control ended when the throwin ended, when the throwin pass was deflected (touched, or was legally touched) by a player in bounds, at A’s free-throw line.

Confucius says: Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day.

Just give me the damn fish.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Nov 22, 2015 at 12:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 12:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
1) When the ball is at disposal of the inbounding player for a throw-in.

2) When the throwin ends (when the passed ball touched, or was legally touched, by another player inbounds).

3) Yes. Team control ended when the throwin ended, when the throwin pass was deflected, by a player in bounds, at A’s free-throw line.

Point: Team control on a throwin is only for the purposes of a team control foul during a throwin. There was no foul in the casebook play, so team control ended when the throwin ended, when the throwin pass was deflected (touched, or was legally touched) by a player in bounds, at A’s free-throw line.

Confucius says: Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day.

Just give me the damn fish.
You are right. we don't know who gets the ball because we don't know who had the arrow. It will be an AP throw in nearest the location of the ball. case plays for POI when no team in control say nearest location of ball.

Team control during a throw in says it lasts until the ball is secured. However, as you pointed out, the sole purpose for this rule--stated when it came out--is to avoid shooting free throws when the throw in team commits a foul during the throw in or after it ends but before a team possesses the ball. For any other situations the regular team control rules apply.

Last edited by BigCat; Sun Nov 22, 2015 at 12:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 12:40pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Rocket Ship Diagram © 2009, Back In The Saddle ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
You are right. we don't know who gets the ball because we don't know who had the arrow. It will be an AP throw in nearest the location of the ball. case plays for POI when no team in control say nearest location of ball.
Nearest location of ball?

7.5.3 SITUATION: An official sounds his/her whistle inadvertently: (c) while A1's unsuccessful three-point try attempt is in flight; RULING: The ball is put in play at the point of interruption. In (c), since there is no team control when the ball becomes dead, the ball is put in play by the team entitled to the throw-in using the alternating-possession procedure at a spot
nearest to where A1 was last in contact with ball when the whistle was sounded.


A throwin at the spot nearest to where the ball was located when the interruption occurred, is only for when there is team control when the interruption occurred. There was no team control when the interruption occurred in this situation.

It looks like the alternating possession throwin should be at the closest spot to where the throwin pass was deflected at A’s free-throw line.




Do I still get a prize?

Hasn't this become a great thread?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Nov 22, 2015 at 12:47pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Nearest location of ball?

7.5.3 SITUATION: An official sounds his/her whistle inadvertently: (c) while A1's unsuccessful three-point try attempt is in flight; RULING: The ball is put in play at the point of interruption. In (c), since there is no team control when the ball becomes dead, the ball is put in play by the team entitled to the throw-in using the alternating-possession procedure at a spot
nearest to where A1 was last in contact with ball when the whistle was sounded.


It looks like the alternating possession throwin should be at the closest spot to where the throwin pass was deflected at A’s free-throw line.



Do I still get a prize?

Hasn't this become a great thread?
i agree about your ball location. I will give you a fish. We'll see what Nevada says.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 12:51pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
All I Won Was A Lousy Fish ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
We'll see what Nevada says.
Don't forget Mark T. DeNucci, Sr., and bob jenkiins.

Basketball rules are tough. There has got to be an easier sport to officiate.

Croquet, Mark Padgett?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 01:28pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Don't forget Mark T. DeNucci, Sr., and bob jenkiins.

Basketball rules are tough. There has got to be an easier sport to officiate.

Croquet, Mark Padgett?

Actually, from what my friends tell me, football rules are the ultimate in complexity. I am sure that Jeff and Tony can weigh in on that.

But the easiest is futbol, I mean soccer. I officiated H.S. soccer from 1993 to 2005, and nothing infuriated those sports officials who only officiate soccer, was my position that I could take any competent H.S. basketball official and make him a competent H.S. soccer official in less than one H.S. soccer season. But the reverse was not true for soccer officials.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
1) When the ball is at disposal of the inbounding player for a throw-in.

2) When the throwin ends (when the passed ball touched, or was legally touched, by another player inbounds).

3) Yes. Team control ended when the throwin ended, when the throwin pass was deflected, by a player in bounds, at A’s free-throw line.

Point: Team control on a throwin is only for the purposes of a team control foul during a throwin. There was no foul in the casebook play, so team control ended when the throwin ended, when the throwin pass was deflected (touched, or was legally touched) by a player in bounds, at A’s free-throw line.

Confucius says: Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day.

Just give me the damn fish.
I'm going to take half of the fish back. your number 2 above is off. Team control for throw in purposes MAY not end when the throw in ends. If the ball is deflected the throw in is over but if the throw in team fouls before the ball is secured it is still a team control foul. It is a fiction created for the sole purpose to avoid shooting Fts when the throw in team fouls before throw in ends or possession secured. Your answer is right in the end but i am taking off for this slight error….
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 01:00pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Is That You Mr. Dalton ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Your answer is right in the end but i am taking off for this slight error….
Did you teach high school chemistry back in 1970?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Did you teach high school chemistry back in 1970?
took naps..in kindergarten...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
2) When the throwin ends (when the passed ball touched, or was legally touched, by another player inbounds).
Read 4-12-3 and 4-12-4. Do they apply?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 22, 2015, 03:45pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Team Control During A Throwin ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Read 4-12-3 and 4-12-4. Do they apply?
4-12: ART. 3 Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.
ART. 4 While the ball remains live a loose ball always remains in control of
the team whose player last had control, unless it is a try or tap for goal.

Even in a throwin situation where the concept of team control is only necessary for the charging of a team control foul during the throwin?

So, if inbounder A1 has a throwin, passes it onto the court, where it's batted, tipped, and tapped, around, pinball style, by players from both teams, none of whom gains player control, and during which no foul by Team A was charged, then did Team A still maintain team control during that entire sequence of events, even when the throwin ended when it was touched by a player inbounds? So, if Team A fouled during end of this pinball situation, would it still be considered a team control foul, even though the throwin ended?

It seems to me that team control on a throwin, was given, by definition, to the throwin team when the NFHS decided that a foul by Team A during said throwin would be a team control foul with no free throws, and that team control during a throwin was not relevant to other situations, for example, backcourt.

Comments On The 2011-12 Revisions:

TEAM CONTROL DURING A THROW-IN (4-12-1, 2, 6): Several definitions were
changed to reflect that team control will now exist during a throw-in when the
thrower-in has the ball at his/her disposal. The change primarily affects how foul
penalties will be administered.
By changing the definition of player and team control
to include a throw-in, greater consistency in penalty administration for a
common foul is achieved. Under the previous rule, because there was no team
control during a throw-in, the penalty for a common foul committed by the throw
in team after the throw-in had begun resulted in free throws if the offended team
was in the bonus, which was inconsistent with the penalty for a team-control foul
in non-throw-in situations. The rules change will result in greater consistency in
penalty enforcement and expedite the contest by eliminating the delay inherent
with administering free throws.

Hey. I've been known to be wrong before, probably more than once, or twice.

Help me to understand.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Nov 23, 2015 at 06:47am.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 23, 2015, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
4-12: ART. 3 Team control continues until:
a. The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
b. An opponent secures control.
c. The ball becomes dead.
ART. 4 While the ball remains live a loose ball always remains in control of
the team whose player last had control, unless it is a try or tap for goal.

Even in a throwin situation where the concept of team control is only necessary for the charging of a team control foul during the throwin?

So, if inbounder A1 has a throwin, passes it onto the court, where it's batted, tipped, and tapped, around, pinball style, by players from both teams, none of whom gains player control, and during which no foul by Team A was charged, then did Team A still maintain team control during that entire sequence of events, even when the throwin ended when it was touched by a player inbounds? So, if Team A fouled during end of this pinball situation, would it still be considered a team control foul, even though the throwin ended?

It seems to me that team control on a throwin, was given, by definition, to the throwin team when the NFHS decided that a foul by Team A during said throwin would be a team control foul with no free throws, and that team control during a throwin was not relevant to other situations, for example, backcourt.

Comments On The 2011-12 Revisions:

TEAM CONTROL DURING A THROW-IN (4-12-1, 2, 6): Several definitions were
changed to reflect that team control will now exist during a throw-in when the
thrower-in has the ball at his/her disposal. The change primarily affects how foul
penalties will be administered.
By changing the definition of player and team control
to include a throw-in, greater consistency in penalty administration for a
common foul is achieved. Under the previous rule, because there was no team
control during a throw-in, the penalty for a common foul committed by the throw
in team after the throw-in had begun resulted in free throws if the offended team
was in the bonus, which was inconsistent with the penalty for a team-control foul
in non-throw-in situations. The rules change will result in greater consistency in
penalty enforcement and expedite the contest by eliminating the delay inherent
with administering free throws.

Hey. I've been known to be wrong before, probably more than once, or twice.

Help me to understand.
Look at 4-19-7. "a team control foul is…(including a member of the throw in team from the start of the throw in until PC is obtained inbounds)."

also, the 2014/15 poe mentions that its ONLY purpose is to deal with fouls by throw in team.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 23, 2015, 04:29pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Throwin Team Control ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
4-19-7 ... a team control foul is…(including a member of the throw in team from the start of the throw in until PC is obtained inbounds)...
Nice citation. So while that hot potato ball is pin balling around (how about that for a mixed metaphor) a team control foul can be charged until player control is established?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
the 2014/15 poe mentions that its ONLY purpose is to deal with fouls by throw in team.
So for purposes other than a team control foul, team control ended when the throw in ended, that is, when the ball was touched by the player at the free throw line?

Two questions marks. Am I on the right track.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pass hitting player and going through basket Dave9819 Basketball 30 Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:26am
Horn goes off on an inbound pass under basket mitchstripes Basketball 2 Mon Dec 20, 2010 02:50pm
Inbound Pass Goes in Basket rgncjn Basketball 6 Mon Nov 05, 2007 09:55pm
In bound Location dsnyder Basketball 5 Tue Dec 07, 2004 04:18am
Pass deflected into basket. Jeff the Ref Basketball 15 Tue Nov 11, 2003 01:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1