The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Just out of curiosity, what WOULD you do?

Suppose after the base switch, the pitcher delivers the pitch, the batter singles to knock home the lead runner from second, and the trail runner moves to second. The DC comes out and protests that the runner at second was originally the lead runner, and you verify that fact by checking your lineup card. Would you allow the run? Would you require a do-over?
I really don't know. In this particular sequence, the thing for me is how would I verify it after the fact? I'm very cognizant of verifying runners before the fact, so the chances of this happening to me are next to none, but I don't know how I would verify the DC's assertion.

But let's say it somehow happens. The one thing I can tell you is that I'm still ejecting. I don't know if I would let it stand or if I would have a do-over.

Is there a case play for, say, the defense playing the first batter with 10 on the field and getting an out? If there is, I would use the same principle.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 11:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post
I really don't know. In this particular sequence, the thing for me is how would I verify it after the fact? I'm very cognizant of verifying runners before the fact, so the chances of this happening to me are next to none, but I don't know how I would verify the DC's assertion.

But let's say it somehow happens. The one thing I can tell you is that I'm still ejecting. I don't know if I would let it stand or if I would have a do-over.

Is there a case play for, say, the defense playing the first batter with 10 on the field and getting an out? If there is, I would use the same principle.
I have trouble thinking of how this could be verified after the fact as well. "She was on 2nd, she should have been on first" - I can probably verify that she was on 2nd ... but if I missed the fact that they moved up during the time out, I'm probably not aware enough to know for certain that she should have been on first.

The switched places scenario is more readily verifiable - especially if only one runner scored and the other (wrong) one is still on base.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 11:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
I have trouble thinking of how this could be verified after the fact as well. "She was on 2nd, she should have been on first" - I can probably verify that she was on 2nd ... but if I missed the fact that they moved up during the time out, I'm probably not aware enough to know for certain that she should have been on first.

The switched places scenario is more readily verifiable - especially if only one runner scored and the other (wrong) one is still on base.
Let's try this on for size.

R2, R3, one out. Double (potential triple) to right. R2, after rounding third, starts to go back to second, thinking the ball was caught. Throw comes to third while both BR and R2 are between second and third. Somehow, in the jumble, BR ends up on third and R2 ends up on second. You don't catch it, and the defense doesn't either (hey, they're just happy only one run scored.) After the next batter singles and advances both, DC has the light-bulb moment.

Can you go back and fix it? I say no.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Speaking of light-bulb moments, I just had it!

You can get outs on the switch, but not how FED wants it.

If the offense had a conference, and came out if it with two brand new runners, we would call it a substitution (unannounced, potentially.) I think if they do the switch with existing runners, we have two illegal substitutions. Bam! Both are out and restricted.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 26, 2014, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post
Speaking of light-bulb moments, I just had it!

You can get outs on the switch, but not how FED wants it.

If the offense had a conference, and came out if it with two brand new runners, we would call it a substitution (unannounced, potentially.) I think if they do the switch with existing runners, we have two illegal substitutions. Bam! Both are out and restricted.
Simply brilliant. And you know you're going to get the coach too.

If this situation arises, I will definitely use this. Go ahead and protest, bitch.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 10:07am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post
Speaking of light-bulb moments, I just had it!

You can get outs on the switch, but not how FED wants it.

If the offense had a conference, and came out if it with two brand new runners, we would call it a substitution (unannounced, potentially.) I think if they do the switch with existing runners, we have two illegal substitutions. Bam! Both are out and restricted.
How can you have any substitution when both players are already in the lineup?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 27, 2014, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Upper Midwest
Posts: 928
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT1 View Post
How can you have any substitution when both players are already in the lineup?
Why not? Probably the most common illegal sub is when both players are in the lineup. The DH goes on defense without his defensive counterpart coming out.
__________________
"I don't think I'm very happy. I always fall asleep to the sound of my own screams...and then I always get woken up to the sound of my own screams. Do you think I'm unhappy?"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 28, 2014, 09:48am
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt View Post
Why not? Probably the most common illegal sub is when both players are in the lineup. The DH goes on defense without his defensive counterpart coming out.
Apples to oranges. The DH is the only one in the batting order.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This happened to me last night rwest Basketball 5 Fri Jan 21, 2005 09:27am
It happened again last night...... IRISHMAFIA Softball 14 Tue Oct 28, 2003 08:19pm
Bush League Play TwoBits Baseball 12 Thu May 01, 2003 06:58am
It happened last night Camron Rust Basketball 18 Thu Feb 27, 2003 10:13am
It happened last night ranjo Basketball 6 Wed Jan 16, 2002 08:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1